Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 June 2017
The first few chapters are a useful guide to various common lighting problems but later chapters just seem to be variations on the same basic theme.
Incidentally, some of the authors comments about iso settings and the cameras sensitivity to light are wrong - increasing iso does not make the camera "gather light more efficiently"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
As is obvious from the title, the book teaches how to handle difficult lighting situations. It does so by examining a typical problem we all encounter too often; shooting in mid day sun, shooting in flourecent light and so on, and then step by step walking through suggestions on how to handle the problem.

I have read quite a few books on photography, lighting, composition etc, and too many of them (all of them actually) suffer from a lack of "teaching quality" - they often just show a great picture and explain how they made it. Whereas in this book they teach you how to actually get from here to there. Starting with a typical crappy photo and walking through the thought- and work process to arrive to one or more solutions.

I think it is fair to say I have gained more practical knowledge from this book than from any other so far. So five stars it is! I only hope to find more books with this approach.

(edit: spelling)
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I ordered this with another book, I so glad this came first.
I’ve read it from cover to cover.
Considering I’ve been in photography on and off for pleasure for many years and of the age of 35mm film.
This book in a word is excellent. I’ve learn't so many tips.
The book is well written easy to read and with many pictorial examples of good and bad technique.
On how to use equipment efficiently.
From reflectors to flash and fill in flash and what those colour filter are for that came with the flash gun. If you didn’t, get some.
Hints and tips to control white balance.

If you don’t buy any other book buy this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Great book, easy to read and explained exceptionally well. Some of the options are obvious but we normally don't see the obvious and this book makes sure you can. It certainly helps you to not only look at the light but to "see" its impact and do something about with the minimum of kit. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
I would recommend this product to anyone interested in photography. Descriptive and useful for those interesed in any type of photography. Aimed at imaging people, it relates well to conditions --- The book I've been waiting for for years !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
Some very useful tips in here mostly making use of reflectors. Has a good set of example pictures and as the title suggests it is written in a casual, easy to understand and friendly style. Worth owning for reference.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Good for amateurs and pro's alike. Nothing new for pro's (as they should already know this) but it does break down and explain in detail why you would do certain things in certain situations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
This is a great book, there are so many tips and lots of helpful information. It's one of the best lighting books I have ever read and gives clear before and after pictures from every different scenario.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Perhaps a little too thorough for me. goes into depth explaining how you build from crap existing light to good results. A lot of the advice in my opinion is beginner stuff, and the methods used often rely on VAL a lot (VAL = Voice Activated Lightstand ie assistant photographer). Nevertheless, this is very good reading for anyone who wants to improve their location shooting skills, and build a basic understanding of how to use flash and reflectors to counter ugly available light.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
There are gazzilions of photo books out there, some are brilliant, most are fairly dull and unispiring. This is definitely in the brilliant category. I hate using flash, but accept sometimes it's unavoidable. This book presents very punchy,readable examples of how to get the best of both natural and flash in 'Sh*tty' light using illustations from their own experience. It reads more like a sparky conversation than a dull text book and has helped me massively to try different approaches in sh*tty light to get great results. Definitely worth the money,if only cos it's such a good read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)