Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2017
Simply wonderful... This was introduced to me through watching Brief Encounter many decades ago, and I've loved it ever since... Reduces me to tears every time... and I never get bored listening to it... an amazing piece of music... so relaxing, emotive, livening etc etc... and this rendition/version is crisp and clean and just as it is in the movie... and for only 1.99 half an hour of bliss... and in the car the journey times just wile away listening to this, and perhaps it's a bit worrying as I hardly remember the journey afterwards... !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
lovely
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
An inspirational piece of music, whoever plays it, but this is a particularly good recording. Definitely worth £1.99 of anyone's money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Ukrainian-born YouTube diva Valentina Lisitsa demonstrates in this, the first release of her digital "Rachmaninoff Project", that she has the character, authority and technique to take her place as a major talent among today's concert pianists.

This is a fresh, vibrant Rachmaninoff with an elegant, flexible line which sings in long rubato phrases where the piano seems to float miraculously over the beat without ever taking liberties with it. The pulsating, brisk tempo of the opening provides an energy that is echoed throughout, driving the music forward rather than pulling it back: grand without being paralysed by its own grandeur.

The second movement shows the LSO strings playing with exceptional sweetness in their exchange of the long singing theme with Lisitsa's tender, lyrical phrasing. The cadenza and the magical coda are played with great clarity and moving sentiment.

This great clarity, the product of a cast-iron technique and a functioning musical brain, is especially evident in the third movement with its virtuoso runs and almost continually busy, chattering piano accompaniment. This is glittering, at times icy playing, an exciting (and necessary) contrast to the almost excessive romanticism of the big tunes. The finale breaks through like a river in flood - all the glitter swept away in the passionate, headlong rush.

The LSO under the young conductor Michael Francis - not long ago, a double bass player with the same orchestra - are clearly in tune with Lisitsa's vision of the concerto, based, she says, on Rachmaninoff's own playing which she sees as more aristocratic and refined than the thunderously portentous perfomances this repertoire sometimes attracts. There is an excellent rapport with the orchestra, and you'd think they had been performing with Lisitsa for years rather than meeting for the first time in the studio.

This is an absolute steal at the price, for a digital recording. Can't wait to hear what she does with the other, even more musically demanding, concertos in the "project".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I first heard, and fell in love with, this piece of music when I was less than 5 years old and, as I am nearly 70 now, I have heard many versions. Since the advent of Cds I have been trying to find a version that had the sparkle and sheer exuberance of the version I grew up with (that no longer being available).I listened to a lot of versions on Amazon and found most of them sounded to me like funeral dirges compared to my memories of the piece.
Finally,today, I found this version whilst looking for MP3s on the Kindle Fire (on which it sounds wonderful incidentally). AT LAST! - someone who plays with a truly assured touch without being ponderous and heavy handed. This has to be Rachmaninov at its' very best - by the end it leaves you breathless and elated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Valentina Lisitsa is without doubt a wonderful pianist. She appears to have an infinity with Rachmaninov's piano music. It is a pleasure just sitting back and listening to her play this Concerto No.2. I can thoroughly recommend this recording.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 March 2015
Very accomplished recording.I love this.There are a few differences between the recordings I have already but it is nice to have a fresh take on this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
First time i've heard Piano concerto No.2 by Valentina Lisitsa.
Very good indeed but i still prefer Maria Joao Pires's version, because it's more intense, robust and passionate.
Great version tho and I would very much like to see Valentina play live...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
It's so easy for this great warhorse of a concerto to fade into hackneyed musical wallpaper for jaded ears, but Valentina Lisitsa's delightful and convincing performance really refreshes one's passion for it. Rachmaninov loyalists will want to add this version to their collections. For those with any hesitation, the current price of the MP3 download makes it an outright steal.

Valentina recently gave a live performance of Rach 3, and has all sorts of YouTube clips of the others, so it's just possible (please!) that in the fullness of time she and Decca will be treating us to the 'full five' (Concertos #1- #4 plus Warenberg's piano adaptation of the Second Symphony). You go girl!
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
A wonderful rendition of this popular piece,by a consumate professional,
and an excellent quality recording with depth and clarity.
Good value for such a quality recording.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£2.49
£1.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)