Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
56
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£12.34


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2012
I'm a confirmed fan of Ari Seth Cohen's blog, a badly-needed antidote to contemporary fashion's obsession with extreme youth and a very limited definition of beauty. (It was not always this way - before the 1960s the great couturiers designed with the elegant older woman in mind and younger women aspired to look like her.) I have been waiting eagerly for this book and am not disappointed. Seth Cohen's subjects show that you don't have to become invisible once you hit fifty. Aged from sixty-five up to a hundred, these wonderful women (and one or two men) run the whole gamut of styles from over-the-top theatricality to elegant minimalism. What they all have in common is that they are dressing to please themselves and they look as if they enjoy every minute of it. There is not a cookie-cutter fashion-follower among them - each has honed her (or his) personal style to perfection and wears it with pride.
The photographs are beautiful. I'd have liked a little more text, as I enjoy the wit and wisdom of the Advanced Style women, but maybe that would have meant fewer pictures.
The blog mentioned recently that a film is in preparation. I can't wait.
22 Comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
Oh cant rave enough about this book since i am close to that age group and have my own style its good to see older women who dont let the lack of cool fashion for older women hold them back from being stylish knockouts. Brilliant just brilliant
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
This is a great book, full of images to inspire. Now, you wouldn't dress like many of these women, but I treat it as a book to inspire. The books was bought for my mum to encourage her to take more risks in the clothes she wears. At 84 she is even more stylish than when she was younger. Some may say that the models are slim. but this is what you would find in any book of this type.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2014
It was very refreshing to have a Fashion-related book dedicated to the Mature Woman. Many of the ladies photographed proved that style and elegance lives on, no matter what your age! Though the author should be congratulated for focusing on this particular group, there were moments within the book where one's own personal taste may not have been in total agreement with his. It would have been a better format if he classed the various subjects within different categories-eg.' Elegance'; 'Eccentric';'Glamourous' etc. Well done to Mr. Cohen nonetheless for honouring the memories of his grandmothers'!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Fabulous book - full of colour and it cements the adage - you may age, but there is no need to grow old!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2012
An amazing insight into the colourful world of many 'advanced style' women.
This book has certainly changed my views on getting older.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
This wonderful book celebrates the energy of life. Ari Seth Cohen photographs older women whose vitality is expressed through their stylish outfits. These women display Individuality, creativity and a soupcon of rebelliousness. It is a joy to experience them through their pithy comments and through Ari's gorgeous photographs .
This is a book for anyone interested in seeing the human spirit made visible.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Wonderful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Love this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
It was a present for my wife, who said 'this book makes you feel better about getting old. The women depicted would put most young women to shame with their life affirming style and verve. All women over fifty should be given a copy of this book'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)