Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
It appears that Toshiba are currently under-pricing some of their products to get new consumers. This TV is very good value for money, considering the cost of competing big name Smart TVs. Not perfect, but I'm very pleased with what this TV does well.

What I like:
Picture quality.
Sound quality when connected through amp.
LED back-lit, meaning no ambient light escapes from air vents and also makes for a thin TV.
2 USB ports, meaning you can connect an HDD into one and a wireless USB keyboard for typing in browser / YouTube app.
You can record from Freeview HD.
Good number of signal inputs: 3 x HDMI, 1 x Scart, 1 x VGA, 1 x Digital aerial (Freeview HD) and 1 x Component video*.
Smart TV functions: iPlayer, YouTube and access to various multimedia features through Toshiba Places.
Can play back a wide range of media formats from USB drive.
Wifi connectivity.

What I do not like:
Speakers are a little weak.
Smart TV web browser is rubbish. Very slow to deal with content-rich web pages.
Text entry is clunky with Toshiba remote in Smart TV apps.
No 4oD or ITV player through Smart TV (yet?).

Overall, I give this 5/5. Yes, there are issues to be addressed (mainly the lack of support for TV services available through the internet, and the terrible web browsing experience), but considering the price I can't fairly deduct points. A word of advice - if you plan to use YouTube frequently, get a wireless USB keyboard. A keyboard / mouse combo will work in the web browser, but the browsing experience is soooo poor I wouldn't bother.

* Note: If you have a Wii, buy a component-out cable to get the best possible picture. The Wii does not support full HD, but the component connection gives a noticeably better picture on HD TVs than the standard composite connection. I find the picture quality on this TV with the component connection to be good enough to not distract from the gameplay at all.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
For its price bracket this TV is extremely impressive. Clear, crisp HD picture and even though the reviews I read elsewhere suggested the sound quality was a little below spec, I find the sound fills our living room more than adequately.

Very easy to put together and operate.

Very happy with this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
Awesome picture quality and fast SMART TV connection and no dongle required unlike other TVs. Good value for money. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Generally was really pleased with this TV but I'm so disapointed by the quality of the speakers and sound. I'm now saving for a decent surround sound to match the screen quality. Overall it's a great display but the sound is so disapointing. It's adequate for gaming or just standard TV but if you want to watch any films you'll definitely want something with better sound.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Nice picture, good sound, easy to set up etc. However, since it has HD Freeview, many will want to put channels 101-104 as 1-4, but strangely one can not edit the programme list.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
You can get this TV from tesco direct for £299 , a good tv although the remote is quite unresponsive at times which is quite frustrating.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Not yet convinced by this TV - quality in almost every area is WAY below Samsung TV we also have, and that was similarly priced - plastics used, response form remote, software, sound quality, ease of use all significantly poorer.

It's crashed twice so far whilst using the DNLA media network player (one of the reasons I got it). The second time it crashed so badly it managed to detune all the BBC digital channels - needing a full retune to get them back - how is that even possible? When it does crash, it loses network settings and the only way to get it back is to switch off at the plug socket and wait 5 seconds before plugging back in.

On top of this the DNLA implementation is SO poor it has virtually no decoders built-in (it turns out that a tv saying 'DNLA Certified' on the side is NOT the whole story - there are different levels of compliance) - so unless you use a DNLA server that decodes on the fly, it will constantly come up with 'error decoding'. Samsung TV's on the other hand will play pretty much anything...

As a basic TV - it's ok - the picture isn't bad at all. But all the DNLA / Smart TV side of it is poorly thought out and very, very flakey. Save your money, just get a standard tv until they sort it out.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 January 2013
After ordering a Panasonic Plasma from Amazon which arrived broken I went today at Richer Sounds and bought this gem for the cheapest online sale price. They price-matched the PRC-Direct in store price (who are they?)! Now the TV: absolutely fantastic. I have left everything on auto and still the image is good on SD and excellent on HD. The sound is good and even at 25% perfectly audible for normal viewing. The embedded wi-fi works straight on (be careful to have your network encryption at WEP though). I am right now watching a show on SD on the iPlayer with perfect image and no streaming hickups. The USB works well and loads all formats I tried. The design is great, the TV is very slim and rather light. Installation was very straightforward. I am amazed... will update if anything goes wrong. Run down to a shop that price matches and throw one in the car!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Picture and Sound quality are ok for a TV in this price bracket, however the 'Smart TV' feature is rubbish. The streaming of BBC iplayer is slow and jittery. I am assuming that the processor is the TV is to blame. The in built wifi does not pick up signal very well. Even sitting next to the router it showed a medium strength signal. I then plugged directly into the LAN port and still it could not stream content. It's frustrating as our Nintendo wii can stream just fine on wireless and this sits next to the TV.

Verdict. Tosh.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Bought this tv for £399 and am very happy with its performance, great picture, WiFi works well with no problems, ps3 looks amazing on it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)