Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2014
Brilliant collection of the evocative themes to the James Bond films.
I have always thought DVD's should be produced with just the opening songs and footage, without the listings of actors, etc., I think they would sell as music videos in themselves, especially the early films, so brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
I love it, brings back so many memories. Brilliant sounds of brilliant films. I was shaken as well as stirred.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Excellent 5 Stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I really do like the idea of this CD. Not only does it have all but one of the films soudtracks,Skyfall is missing which is a real shame, but theres also a whole CD full of soundtracks from various dramatic moments and chase scenes from many memorable Bond moments. A real winner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
This magnificent CD brings together 37 years of the fantastic music that was brought to us by the James Bond series.

Beginning with the James Bond theme, first played on the first 007 flicks, Dr No (1962), and has graced as background music, in one form or another, most of the subsequent Bond films down the year.

Many of the hits featured on their respective Bond thrillers. This is music from the 1960's, 70's, 80's and 90's at it's very, very best.

My personal favorites include:

Shirley Bassey's luxurious and smooth Goldfinger (1964), with it's opening elephantine trumpets.

The rich and contemplative You Only Live Twice (1967) sung by Nancy Sinatra.

Soft Cell redid an interesting version in the early 1980's.

The closing piece from On Her Majesties Secret Service (1969), " We Have All The Time In The World" sung with great warmth and sincerity by Louis Armstrong.

Live And Let Die (1973), by Paul McCartney, an absolutely magical and enthusing piece in the very best style of that fantastic early 70's rock.

Carly Simon's melody Nobody Does It Better from The Spy Who Loved Me (1977). Marvin Hamlisch who wrote the song with Carole Bayer Sager explained: " It was time that Bond be pretentious enough and vain enough to have a song written about him."

The rich and haunting Moonraker (1979) by Shirley Bassey.

The sexy and enticing mood setter "For Your Eyes Only" (1981) by Sheena Easton, the only theme song where the singer of the theme song appears on stage. This is because Sheena Easton rivaled the Bond girls in her beauty.

The romantic "All Time High" from Octopussy (1983) by Rita Coolidge.

The energetic "The Living Daylights" (1987) by Ah Ha.

The R&B License To Kill (1989) by Gladys Knight.

And the moody Tomorrow Never Dies (1997) by Sheryl Crowe.

My one and only complaint is that the compilation did not include Three Blind Mice (Calypso), which started off Dr No.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
This is well worth £10. This is a very nice edition with every song you could ever possibly want in regards to James Bond. It has all the individual theme songs as well as a lot of backing music (that you might not realise you know). A very very good listen, but when you're driving to work with it blaring out you wish you might wish you had rockets, ejectable seats and an aston martin instead of a corsa...
0Comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2012
So, there's a new Bond film due out, and we have another Best of Bond collection to "celebrate" 50 years of Bond, although you'd hardly know it. Disc 1 is much as you'd expect - all the main title themes, with Goldeneye and LTK appearing in their single versions and a different version of Casino Royale to that on the original single.

On to Disc 2. With it being the 50th Anniversary, there would have been no better opportunity to include some of the wealth of Bond music that has never been released before on any format, let alone CD. Sadly, there is nothing new here. Disc 2 is just a bizarre, random collection of widely available tracks taken from the soundtrack albums, some of which can hardly be called the "Best Of Bond".

This is a strange collection, clearly put together as a last-minute rush-job with no thought or effort - the Bond fans who don't want the soundtrack albums aren't going to be bothered by the incidental music on Disc 2, those that do have the soundtrack albums have these tracks already, so who exactly is this collection aimed at?

The 1992 30th Anniversary Collection was a great example of what they can do when they put some thought into it - a brilliant 2CD set containg all the songs (up to LTK), and previously unreleased demo recordings and Thunderball music on Disc 2, so it is possible. It's just a shame they obviously couldn't be bothered for this release.
22 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
This compilation has the version of the themes you expect in good quality and they are performed by the original artist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
I like this album because it reminds me of childhood aswell as classic Bond moments. Having been brought up on a similar compilation (minus the Pierce Brosnan years), I wanted something more up to date. This has everything minus Skyfall.

I like most of the songs on the album, particularly "James Bond Theme (From Dr. No)", "Diamonds are Forever", "Live and Let Die", "The Man with the Golden Gun", "Nobody Does it Better", "License to Kill", "We Have All the Time in the World", "Goldeneye" and "You Know My Name". For me these are personal favourites and Bond theme classics.

I would recommend this to any Bond fan (that does't mind the absence of Skyfall), and also to fans top singers because these artists are the best. Shirley Bassey, Paul McCartney, Lulu, Carly Simon, Gladys Knight, Louis Armstrong, Tina Turner and Chris Cornell; making up a fab array of vocal genii!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)