Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
13
The Chelsea FC Miscellany
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.84


on 29 November 2012
There is no-one more qualified to write this book than Rick Glanvill, official historian and biographer of Chelsea. The miscellany isn't a blow-by-blow history of the club, but it is a fun, irreverent and informative look at some of the events, places and characters that have made this club what it is today. The club didn't start with Abramovich and Rick's book has the perfect blend between old and new. It's ideal for Chelsea fans of all ages and I couldn't recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2012
I've been a Chelsea fan from my first game in the late 80's and I often refer to Stamford Bridge as my church when religion comes in conversation, this book is a bible teaching me new things about the history of my club, in 1930 for example, Stamford Bridge was turned into a temporary cathedral! very fitting.

Rick Glanvill has a number of books available already and this another in the same class, he is the official club historian for a reason and a font of knowledge that goes above and beyond many fans.

This book is up to date and includes quotes from famous names on social media going right back to the printed press of 1905 as the club was founded.

A great gift for anyone with blue blood.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2013
Enjoyable and interesting read. Loads of small and interesting facts and stories about Chelsea, much of it I never knew before buying the book. Highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2013
Went down well as a stocking filler - lots to read for the real fan - interesting facts and stats
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2013
Another book that I bought for my son at Christmas.was delivered in quick time,I have a lot of time for the author Rick Glanvill who seems a very knowledgeable chap.
Had a flick through and it seems a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2013
An absolute gem, full of fun and interesting facts that you wont find or hear anywhere else. Brilliant little soundbites that made me smile and curious all the way through. An utterly brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2012
Wonderful review of Chelsea through the years. A pot pourri of fascinating facts and statistics told with humour and love in Rick's inimitable, intelligent style
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2014
I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY SON HE HASN'T HAD IT YET BUT JUST LOOKING THROUGH IT MYSELF I'M SURE HE WILL BE DELIGHTED
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2012
If you're looking for a little gift book about Chelsea, you can't go wrong with this. Don't let the small size fool you - it's absolutely jam-packed. Well worth getting - it's a bargain!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2015
The usual high standard work by Rick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)