Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.60

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2012
An excellent read, thank you Clare, a real insight not just to life on Death Row, but in this instance the horror of trying to execute Romell for several hours then giving up, given that he maintains his innocence, he should not be put to death, did God intervene to save his life? An excellent real life story, compelling reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
I've just finished reading Romell's story and it was riveting. It gives a good insight into his childhood and throughout his teenage years into adulthood, which at times is very graphic with a lot of detail. However, by the end of the book you cannot help but be enthralled by his story. The insight too into life in the prisons of Ohio was excellent. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in the abolition of the Death Penalty too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I've just finished reading my copy of Romell Broom's "Survivor on Death Row", which is horrific and inspiring in equal measure.

On the one hand, there is no "rise and fall" story here, more of an inexorable descent into Hell on Earth: his young life begins mired in vice and criminality, he becomes a teenage hoodlum and he ends up in prison on Death Row. From October 1985, he is kept on ice in the system for almost twenty-five years until, on 15 September 2009, his time having run out, he is taken into the execution chamber in Lucasville, Ohio, to be put to death by lethal injection.

On the other hand, his survival in the very maw of the U.S. judicial system and his determination to rebuild his life behind bars into a more positive form is a truly remarkable story.

More than anything, it reminds you never to give up hope and never to write off the possibility of change.

Survivor on Death Row
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
A very impressive and moving read, before you set out to judge another read Romells' story, a story shared by many. A narrative of poverty, lack of life chances, a story of survival, misplaced and misunderstood emotions and society, our society. The outcome for Romell could be death.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
I have researched many wrongful convictions cases over the years because my family has experienced the wrong doing of the child protective services system and family court, these wrong doings lead to a wrongful conviction in my family. I decided I would take the time to purchase this book and see how ANOTHER case of wrongful conviction can happen time and time again. It interested me even more to know the prisoner wrote most of the story. I wanted to have a better understanding how a man like Mr. Broom found himself on Death Row and survived the lethal injection given to him, and what is the reason behind being able to write and tell his story. IF there is ever a more compelling story of a man STILL over coming many obstacles in his life it is Romell Broom. By the end of this book I had tears running down my cheeks for everyone person Romell spoke of while telling his story. Damien Echols wrote a book called "Life after Death", Damien spoke of his childhood and what lead him to his wrongful conviction and then is now FREE but Romell is truly the man who is STILL surviving the "Life after Death"

Clare Nonhebel is an amazing human being for all she has done for him in helping him tell his story. I became a believer in the power of "everything happens for a reason" and Clare being put in Romell's life is no coincidence. I hope and pray for a better ending to this book. May Romell Broom live to tell the rest of the story!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
A compelling account of one man's determination to clear his name -after 25 years on death row - for a crime he has always maintained he did not commit.
His struggle is inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Really enjoyed this book and its about time outsiders know what really goes on in Death Row and how pathetic and corrupt the USA judicial system is. Free Romell Brown! xxoo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
This book is fantastic it gives u a good insight into death row the prisoners is innocent but yet trying to still execute it is a book that needs to be read
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
This is an incredible book. Everyone should read it. It has changed the way I think about American Justice System.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Brilliant! A truly harrowing but gripping tale that could not fail to move. I would recommend this book to all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here