Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
87
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2012
It is rarely that a book causes me to laugh aloud while reading. This one does. It is hilarious. I'm a little unsure whether or not the humour, based on two grumpy old men meeting regularly in a Dublin pub, will travel well. Missing a fifth star because of the language. The book does not need f*** in virtually every sentence.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
I bought this little gem after hearing it reviewed on the radio, so I knew what to expect.

It was raw, repellent and delightful. It must be read in the Dublin accents of the two boozers, and you must be immune to the horrors of foul language. I have never heard quite the like of the patter between the men, but I suppose you have to imagine the smell of the Guinness and whiskey, put together all the snatches of bar room memories you retain, double it and there you are. I actually laughed out loud while I read it on my own.

I have no regrets about buying the book, but you do not get many printed words for your money. I hope that Roddy Doyle makes up for this blatant robbery and writes some more of these conversations. However, do not allow anyone under 18 to see it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 March 2013
Funny, witty, to the point. I am ignorant of a lot of Irish current affairs (and football!) so some of this passed over my head.
Loved little Damian and his pets though - could see a spin-off book resulting!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Toddy Doyle site master of comic timing which is pretty damned good when he can't tell how quickly I'm going to be reading. I read this on an all-star hospital appointment an d embarrassed myself by laughing out loud several times. Expect sharp, funny observation, a quick read which doesn't' trouble itself with any real depth. I loved it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 15 November 2012
From the author of 'The Commitments' and a Booker Prize winner amongst his plays and novels, Roddy Doyle has written a short collection of a year's dialogue between two men in a Dublin pub over their pints. It is extremely funny to the point of laughter. The interaction, between the two, covers events that happen over a year that have interest to them in some form or other. Written in short chapters in Irish dialect heavily laced (or should I say loaded?) with profanities. It doesn't read overtly extreme within the context of their meetings. Very much 'Gent's Only' pub material. If one of them gets too serious or disagreeable they are threatened with the lounge. The topics are in the synopsis. I found them hilarious, particularly the antics of grandson Damien and their views on popular figures, deaths, politics etc. Not too far removed from pub conversational material (usually delivered with more decorum).

I found this latest offering from Roddy Doyle cleverly written by a true comic, uplifting in its' wittiness and observations on life as told through the two characters. As another reviewer remarked, it would make an interesting audio version or play, even if not suitable for the airwaves.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
This is a very slim volume but it made me laugh all the way through.
I had to read it aloud to myself in what I like to think is an Irish accent.
It kept reminding me of Paul Durcan's poems.
It's not really a novel, just a series of conversations in the pub, that would work very well as a radio series. Unfortunately, the language is authentically profane and might get the BBC into even more hot water. Without the swearing it would be much shorter but less colourful.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
While this book is different in that it's a dialogue between two people meeting in a bar & having a pint whilst mulling over the major events in the news, in places it becomes difficult to follow the dialogue & you need to know the news story they are musing over. In places it's really funny, but in others a little bit disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
With an economy of language and an eye for dialogue that must be the envy of so many writers, Doyle had me guffawing with nearly every page. That good I read it twice in a week, bought another copy to send to a friend and have been lending my copy to anyone with the remotest interest in having a good laugh.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
After having vapours over the many fXXXX and cXXXXX sprinkled generously through this small book, I began to enjoy its raw and irreverant wit. Using factual news events from 2012, two pub characters berate and reduce everyone to their own level. Due to libel laws I could not quote what the characters say about the Queen, the Pope, Berlusioni, Dana, David Norris, Richard Keys, and various football players but rest assured they are not in the least bit complimentary. "Two Pints" will fall between two stools, as you will be wondering, what the f! or you will utterly love it. To me it does not compare to Roddy Doyle's earlier novels ,such as "The Van", "The Committments" and "Paddy Clarke,Ha,Ha". They had a spirit and vulnerability beneath the roughness of their characters, which is missing from the characters in "Two Pints". "Two Pints" is pure dialogue and non existant character development. It would be an ideal two man play. Reading it will definately give you a good chuckle and I would recommend it over the holiday period for a belly laugh when your in-laws should be outlawed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
A book too far I think. Have laughed uproariously at his others, The Snapper, The Van etc, but this left me disappointed. Just rambling conversations linked by as much swearing as possible. No substance to the book at all and the humour seemed very forced. Shame.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Need customer service? Click here