Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
8
4.6 out of 5 stars
Chronologia: Histoy by the Minute
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99


on 26 September 2012
I got this book for my fathers birthday and i ended up reading it myself. Very interesting , i spent most of the time looking for things that happened in the year i was born. Would recommend for anyone young or old.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2012
A really clever idea for a history book this, offering the reader a trawl through history via the frame of a single day. Who knew that at two in the morning, the first queues for Disneyland began (1955) and the US started bombing Libya (1986)? Or that at 5.15pm, Prime Minister Spencer Perceval was assassinated (1812), and the final whistle went in the 1966 World Cup final? Author Norman Ferguson has pulled together a wonderful collection of historical facts to produce an intriguing little gem of a book. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2012
This is a wee gem of a book. Perfect for dipping into and finding out some interesting historical facts but also capable of maintaing interest if you are after a longer read. It's a book that demands that you share what you are reading with anyone within hearing distance. Picking a random time and finding out what went down in the past is surprisingly entertaining!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2012
This book is a one off, the concept is very original as the author presents a diverse selection of historical facts by the time of day they took place to the very minute. It's a book to dip into again and again and a great conversation starter. This well-researched, quirky book would make an excellent gift for any history buff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2012
A truly refreshing look at history for experts, or novices. This book can be dipped into, (But you end up carrying on reading !). This could make a very interesting project over a 24 period to help highlight history to readers/listeners, or school children. Many thanks for a different viewpoint on history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2012
Did you know that the time of writing this wee review i.e. 16:40 is the same time that Galileo saw Jupiter through a telescope for the first time! If this sort of fact interests you then go get this book. It is a mine of some fantastic (and trivial) information, laid out in a unique style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2013
Bought this as a xmas present for someone who is well into history, and read some of it first. This book was first reviewed in the Daily mail, and had read the exerpt there, which it brought it to my notice. Think it was a good choice and the gift was enjoyed by the receiver.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2012
Yet another example of a great idea let down by simple errors. For example on page 65 'William becomes King William III in 1689,with his wife Anne (James' daughter)becoming queen'. I think you will find his wife became Queen Mary II.Another oddity is on page 100 - over 19009 people. Strange figure to pick. Also I would query the use of 'None return to the Moon' on page 151. They never got there so they could never return.There are other erro Not well enough researched in my view and not properly proof read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)