Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
205
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£0.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
just too bad that it is not on any of her albums :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Great song! 2 tracks Adele singing and the other instrumental.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Love it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Adele singing what more is there to say
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
great tune.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
What can I say about this single except that Adele is fantastic and I fell in love with this song the minute that I heard it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It would be difficult for me to find something that I DON'T love about the latest Bond movie, "Skyfall." But one of the things I loved best about it was Adele's theme song, also called "Skyfall." I'm not surprised that this song ended up winning an Academy Award for "Best Original Song" -- it's a majestic, soaring song that is tied tightly into the plot of the movie, but can also be appreciated on its own, as a love song.

It begins with a blare of brass and a gentle ripple of piano. "This is the end/Hold your breath and count to ten/Feel the earth move and then/Hear my heart burst again," Adele croons softly, sounding resigned whatever is happening. But strings begin to creep into the song, and by the chorus we're in full orchestral mode laced with that hard-edged Bond sound.

Actually, it sounds less like a Bond song, and more like a sort of apocalyptic hymn as she sings, "Let the sky fall, when it crumbles/We will stand tall/And face it all together!" The song uncoils after that like a sonic rose, unfolding new layers of dark horns, violins and a soaring winged finale that leaves your heart pounding.

"Skyfall" is a song that is both simple and complex -- it's got a seventy-seven person orchestra playing under J. A. C. Redford, and it has countless layers and harmonies sweeping together. The James Bond theme is woven in as well, but it feels natural and not like it was prodded in to make it more recognizably a Bond song -- it has its own sound and rhythm.

Instead of a pop song, it's a deep, rich ballad that starts off on a funereal, almost defeated note, only to blossom into fiery, powerful determination by the end. And the lyrics are tightly tied to the actual plot of the movie "Skyfall" -- just look at lines like "Skyfall is where we start," "I've drowned and dreamt this moment" and "we will stand tall/and face it all together/at Skyfall."

But the lyrics and imagery are also vague enough that it can be appreciated as a powerful love ballad in its own right, about triumphing over the odds with the help of one who loves you ("I know I'd never be me without the security/Are your loving arms keeping me from harm/Put your hand in my hand and we'll stand"). And Adele is... well, Adele. Her voice is rich, soulful and full of soaring emotion, and she sounds like she put all her heart and soul into this song.

"Skyfall" is a fitting song for the brilliant new Bond movie, in just about every way -- it's a bittersweet, rich, haunting experience that demands to be heard again and again. And it just made a new fan of Adele.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
A truly fantastic arrangement.

The horns at 2m:10s is worth the price of this (rather expensive) CD single.

Unbelievably this song is not available on the Skyfall soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
On first hearing this new bond theme song, I wasn't really that impressed by the offering from Adele, however with repeat listenings the song seemed to really grow on me, it seemed more like a traditional bond theme and a great immprovement on the recent offerings like "Die another day" or "Another way to die". Where this song comes into its own is when your watching it with the film, the opening title sequence that goes with this song is breath taking and makes more sense especially when you've watched the whole film and the meaning of Skyfall becomes crystal clear, you then realise how brilliant this song really is and how well Adele sings it perfectly while not over doing the vocals and going crazy, she manages to keep it just right. This is a bond theme tune to take notice of and is a perfect addition for the franchises 50th year.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)