Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
31
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
30
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2014
Great band, great album.

I love his voice, its so different from everything else out there.

Some of the lyrics are a bit twisted (portrait of red in particular) but thats what I love about Virginmarys.

(Theyre also fantastic live)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
An excellent introduction album fr...m these guys...i'm no music buff so you'll have to use some of the more intelligent reviews for a descriptive review...all i can say is that i saw this band at hyde park and they were great...the album is just as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
If you don't buy this album, you're stupid.

It is such an incredible mix of addictive riffs, toe tapping drum beats and relateable lyrics.
You won't hear anything this good anytime soon so;

I repeat, don't be effing stupid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
This album takes me back to when British rock was great. The leads voice is rustic with a bluesy tone. The guys are energenic and put on a great gig. The album is amazing and I love the accoustic version, worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
This is the sort of stripped down balls out rock that is hard to find today, as a northern lad proud to support this local group before they become the headline act that they will surely become!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Sounding like classic rock, with a bit of Indie, Arctic Monkey like edge to it. Lots of promise and looking forward to see how they develop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
This is quite simply the finest rock album i've heard since Radiohead's 'OK Computer'. King Of Conflict is 50 minutes of foot tapping, fist pumping energy wrapped up in 12 excellent songs (and one bonus track). The Virginmarys have attracted much admiration for their live performances and producer Toby Jepson has tried to encapsulate that on this record. There is very little studio wizardry here, its largely just 3 instruments and some powerful vocals. But boy do those instruments create some noise. Matt Rose's bass playing is sublime, but Danny Dolan's drumming has to be heard to be believed. In any other band he would be the star of the show but when you have a guitarist as talented as Ally Dickaty it must be pretty hard to get yourself noticed. For those looking for a rock album full of riffs, licks, and solo's get downloading this straight away. Indeed the solo on album closer 'Ends Don't Mend' wouldn't be out of place on a Zeppelin or Pink Floyd record. And Ally's talents don't end with his guitar playing. This album has some great lyrics. It's the usual rock staple of love gone wrong, drugs, and drunkenness, but far superior to most other bands offerings.

Amongst all this praise i must balance it out with some criticism. 5 of the songs have appeared previously on various EP's and some songs (Out Of Mind/Lost Weekend) sound like Oasis era rock, and although certainly not bad they are notably the weaker tracks on the album. In fact almost all the songs follow the verse-chorus 3-4 minute cliche, it would have been nice to have this broken up with some more experimental, less formulaic songs (e.g.) Nothin To Lose or Satellite. Also Dickaty is such a good guitarist that you want him to break out and play a solo for a minute or two (Jimmy Page style). Arguably their 3 best songs (Soul Vampire/Silence/Brothers) have also missed the cut. I hope this is because they are being saved for their next album and they haven't been forgotten about (the fact that 2 of those songs have large acoustic parts could be a reason why they haven't been included here). And finally, why do bands add secret tracks on to the end of albums? all it means is at the end of the final song you get 3 minutes of silence before another song starts, and although the song is pretty good (Stripped) its been released before so is pretty pointless.

All in all tho this is a fantastic record that must be heard. Buy it instantly, play it loud, annoy the neighbours, then play it again. Finally there is a rock band to get excited about again.

Best Songs: Portrait Of Red, Dressed To Kill, Ends Don't Mend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This album is just a must have, I absolutely love it would definitely recommend the duluxe version. There is not one song I dont like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Never heard of these guys before but the album is AMAZING. Has Arctic Monekys'esc vocals with some good punchy rock!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Wow what an album! Every track is memorable from the off. A must have for people with good musical taste
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)