Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 7 October 2017
Well read Audio version of the 66 best books in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Great to listen to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
This narration brings to life the travels of Paul and all his comrades. Their exploits sparkle with zeal and miraculous happenings. The joy of the new Christians is palpable. Luke's descriptions are so matter of fact and detailed because of the historian he was. David's voice is not over dramatic. It tells it in the tone that Luke writes it, because then the true drama comes across in a very telling way. You come away certain that the Good News really is just that for all those living under the occupation of the Romans and the domination of the Synagogue leaders. And that Jesus can free us from the domination of numerous 'gods' now just as successfully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
Brilliantly read by John Suchet and easy to listen to. My only quibble is with the audio facility. Once you have started listening to a chapter, it is possible to pause the reading , and then carry on. It is not possible to "rewind" by 1 or 2 verses; you have to start the whole chapter again in order to re-hear any of the preceding verses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Listening to the beautiful voice of David Suchet read from Acts of the Apostles and from the many letters of Paul is a wonderful experience. Hearing passages read always deepens my understanding, and David does it beautifully
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
This is a wonderful reading of scriptures. David Suchet reads it clearly and with all the emphasis in the right places. I do not use NIV so sometime checked with AV to see of they had the rendering right, they had. I think reading it in a different version was refreshing and I would highly recommend it. I plan to get more. I loved listening to it on Lord's day as I prepared the vega tables for lunch, went to the meeting with the verses of Scripture in my head.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I find this book extremely interesting. It is informative and absorbing. I go back to it frequently to 'dip in'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Wonderful voice. My only quibble is that there is no facility for joining a reading except at the start of a new chapter. It would be great if we were able to join with each new verse, or at least within sections within chapters.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Using the audio part of this item whilst following the text is like having a heavy curtain opened to let in the daylight. David Suchet's sensitive and no - nonsense reading makes Bible reading an enlightened pleasure. Highly recommended to everyone of all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
Very good NIV Bible it is ashame that the producers did not put it on to CD as NOT everyone has MP?players.David Suchet has a clear speaking voice excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)