Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2013
Really well written, up to date research. Review must be taken with a pinch of salt as it will take me years to read it.
Can double as a footstool, breeze block or blunt bludgeoning instrument. It is huge.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
I first borrowed this work from our university library, then decided to buy it myself. This seems to be by far the most detailed, in-depth, quality textbook on neuroscience there is. For a psychology undergrad. like me it is very much an overkill, but I greatly enjoy neurosciences and like to expand my knowledge on this topic in my free time. The table of contents alone takes up 28 pages.

The book generally covers the topics of cell and molecular biology of the neuron, synaptic transmission, the neural basis of cognition, perception, movement, consciousness and unconsciousness, development and the emergence of behaviour and language, thought, affect and learning. Considering the complexity of the topic and amount of information covered, the various authors did a great job at maintaining a cohesive narrative and making the content very interesting, also drizzling in snippets of scientific history (Who discovered what and how). Numerous colourful graphics and anatomic drawings aid understanding. The physical quality of this rather enormous (1760 pages, over 4 kg) volume is excellent, the binding, and paper and print quality very high.

Overall I cannot recommend this enough. It is, however, important to understand that this is not a textbook designed to go with a certain undergraduate degree, and certainly not targeted at medical student. It rather is an in-depth work detailing the current knowledge on the neural sciences.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
The size of a breezeblock and weighs a tonne. Great book for degree level/ masters study. Well organised information and good diagrams. And if you don't agree, it can also be used to prop open doors or as a small stool
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
A great textbook not only for people at university specifically studying the brain but has lots of information about processes related to other fields. I admit I haven't read all of it yet will take a couple more months but is a vast improvement over the 4th edition which was looking a tad dated. Most of its reference material is 4 years old now, however some is scarily up to date with the section on LTP referencing a 2011 paper.

Great for students studying the brain as well as those who have finished their studies and are heading into more complex areas.
Fair warning it is very big and heavy so you can use it to ward off annoying students.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Although dense, it is a great book to read / study if you want to learn about Neuroscience. The chapters are well organised and it is easy to read and understand the contents, especially with the help of the illustrations. As a personal opinion, I believe it should be mandatory for someone who wants to be a neuroscientist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
By far the most comprehensive general book on Neural Science. Had been recommended by many research and lecturing staff at University.
Am doing 2nd year courses in Biochemistry, Pharmacology and Physiology and have been taking extras in Psychology through my contacts. Thoroughly recommend to academics of all levels alongside access to scientific literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
A really clear, well written textbook. The material is covered in detail, but the presentation is never confusing - for a scientific textbook, it's extremely readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
A classic, nicely updated. Fantastic background for teaching a few courses. A couple of new editors and co-authors. I love it, use it and/or consult quite often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Excellent publication! In my opinion, this is the best handbook in the field of neuroscience. Highly recommended :-).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Very quick delivery, brand new book, good price, all in all 100% satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)