Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 July 2014
I used to have a copy of this recording on an audio tape I bought way, way back before the advent of CD. This download is a much crisper and clearer version, although it is still evident it was recorded at the time on acetate. Considering the age of the orriginal broadcast, this is an excellent reproduction of one of radio's greatest pieces of nostalgia. The fact that this adaptation caused widespread panic on the eastern seaboard of the U.S.A. when it was first broadcast is a tremendous compliment to the great Orson Welles and his Mercury Theatre on the Air company. Thank You Amazon for making it availible for download at such a bargain price. For anyone who loves classic old radio recordings I say buy it and enjoy one of the best dramatisations you'll ever listen to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
First you have to remember that this is from 1938, radio was king. The way Orson Welles directs this production is very clever, he lulls the audience into a false sense of security, convinced you are listening to a concert orchestra, being interruptered by news updates, and then building to full on invasion, certainly scared the crap out of the Americans at the time.
I would have given this 5 stars, but I don't think this recording has been remastered at all really, I used to have this on a cassette many years ago I got free with Empire Mag, and that recording was far better!
Still for 90p whose complaining.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
I had this originally on tape cassette and was thrilled to find in on Amazon as a download. This is a recording of the radio play in 1938 by Orson Welles. It is his version (updated to that time period) of the classic novel The War of The Worlds by HG Wells. Mr Welles plays a radio broadcaster in the pay and give a real time account of an alien invasion of New York. Many people tuned into the play late, and on not hearing the open gambit that is WAS a play, listened in horror as they believe it was a real newscast. I believe from reports of the time that thousands of people actually fled from the city fearing the worst. It may sounds dated now but it is a wonderful adaptation of the novel and a piece of history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
You have to be of a certain age to appreciate the power the wireless once held over its audience. We were enthralled by, DICK BARTON, PAUL TEMPLE, THE MAN IN BLACK, JOURNEY INTO SPACE, and a host of other serials and plays. Why even THE ARCHERS were everyday life. Modern youth would find it hard to imagine a family sitting round a wireless as today they sit in front of the TV or even a laptop. But then there was nothing else, once your favourite serial had finished you would normally pick up a book! Strange to think that after going to bed and the light being turned off one would slip under the covers with a torch and carry on reading.
"The War Of The Worlds" needs a bit of imagination and low lights to listen to today. Nevertheless this is Orson Welles at his very best., and story telling at its most effective. It is a wonderful cd to have sitting on the shelf if only for that rainy day, or before the grandchildren have lost their imagination! For this is the actual broadcast that scared Americans almost to death because, if you didn't know, they thought The Martians had landed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
When first radio broadcast in America, many believed it to be real. Still an excellent read/listen and not surpassed by later film productions. I have quite a library of books.by HG Wells .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
It doesn't sound as though it's been remastered as stated, as there are still lots of crackles & clicks, but I suppose to get something like this with a bit of history for only 99P is not a bad deal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
It stands up still. It's a brilliant radio play and well worth listening to as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Total classic must be heard. If you've the films listen to the radio play that started it all and also started a massive panic in the USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
A great recording of the original radio show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
Its great listening and performed as a news broadcast. You can see how the American public were terrified back then
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse