Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2013
I have bought in the past, the UK, US and Japanese versions of this album on CD and even this new Deluxe Edition has three tracks missing from the UK, US & Japanese versions. It's supposed to include the tracks from the E.P. "Kelly's Locker" but one track is missing from that too, all are highlighted below.

They are:

From the original UK release:

"Penthouse Girl, Basement Boy"

From the original US release:

"Oh Boy, the Feeling When You Held My Hand"
"4 Months, 2 Weeks"

From the EP "Kelly's Locker"

"Penthouse Girl, Basement Boy"

I realise that Sarah herself may have put this together and compiled it but I think it could have been better if all the above tracks were included. The only way to have all the missing tracks is to obtain the editions as mentioned above which I already own. It is still a great selection of tunes though for the price and worth buying but get the others too if you can.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
When a lead vocalist of a pop group embarks on a solo project, the result is often embarrassing and self-indulgent. This is not the case with this album, and anyone who has enjoyed Sarah Cracknell's vocals with St.Etienne (Kylie Minogue's pop sensibilities with a greater depth and richness), will surely take pleasure in this collection of high quality pop songs. There's not the experimentation that is present on some of St.Etienne's albums; this element doesn't always work, but if there is a slight criticism of 'Lipslide' it is that it feels just a little too safe in its choice of material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
This deluxe re-issue is fantastic and full of great discoveries Disc 2's Summer Song is an absolute standout for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2003
I BOUGHT THE ORIGINAL LIPSLIDE WHEN IT CAME OUT AND HAVE LISTENED TO IT CONSTANTLY OVER THE YEARS.
I CAN UNDERSTAND WHY SARAH CARACKNELL WANTED TO REPACKAGE IT DUE TO THE NIGHTMARE SHE HAD WITH THE RECORD COMPANY AT THE TIME.
HOWEVER, I'D URGE FANS TO GET THEIR HANDS ON THE ORIGINAL SO THEY CAN ENJOY TRACKS MISSING FROM THE RE-RELEASE SUCH AS 'TAXI', THE SUMMER-DISCO CLASSIC 'TAKING OFF FOR FRANCE' AND THE DUSTY-IN-MEMPHIS-ESQUE 'CAN'T STOP (NOW THAT I'VE STARTED)' - THE PERFECT FINAL TRACK.
I'M STICKING WITH THE ORIGINAL RELEASE AND GIVE IT 5 STARS!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2000
The long awaited US release of Mz Cracknell's Lipslide is a cracker ! Were treated to the best tracks from the UK and Japenese release. We also get a new track, 4 Months, 2 Weeks. Which should of appered on the album proper in my opinion ! We also get a interactive element, the video for Anymore ! Hurrh ! Not quite Saint Etienne, but definetly worth adding to your collection. Regardless of if your a Etienne fan or not !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Arrived quickly and in excellent condition. Recommend this reissue for any hardcore fan of St. Etienne. The bonus material is worth the price of the discs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
Lipslide
this is a great album especially for fans of saint etienne/sarah all the tracks are nice and the album is a real "grower"
shame this is the US version as the UK original has been deleted and has missing/different tracks but these can been found on the companion EP Kelly's Locker,also worth noting that a deluxe version of this album is currently underway according to saint etienne's official website and im sure this will include all the missing tracks that form the EP
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
If you like early st etienne you are gonna love this!

oh and don't forget to buy this b side gem!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Boy-Feeling-When-Held-Hand/dp/B001NY3Z7C
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
the Japanese version of Taxi, which is the best of the album IMHO. Track that one down if you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.41
£65.95
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)