Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
303
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2015
yep . . . The young Mr King is showing disturbing signs . . . . I liked this short story. Enough of a decent read for me to want to read other novels and stories from this writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
A very disturbing and unpleasant short story which I wished I had not read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Great!! A really good, enjoyable little read. A little dark but what we're used to from Stephen King after all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
A great short story. It's creepy and draws you into it. A quick read, great for fans of both authors with a little time to spare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Like all Stephen King books, enthralling and a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Good short. But thought there would be more. Didn't realise it was a short story. But still a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
Another Steven King under my belt. I found this one did not disappoint. Grabs you from the first page and you cannot put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
A bit far-fetched for my imagination, the characters are so well-described but the rock and its effects are quite hard to phantom..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Joe Hill, in case you don't already know, is Stephen King's son. He's also a talented writer. Which isn't surprising. Either it's in the genes, or, more likely, Joe Hill grew up with the world's greatest writing teacher at his beck and call. What writer wouldn't benefit from having Stephen King as his live-in editor?

Anyway, In The Tall Grass is a short story co-written by father and son: by teacher and pupil. And it's a good one.

Reminiscent of King's earlier work Children Of The Corn, it's the story of a sister (pregnant) and her twin brother who find themselves in the middle of nowhere, wading into a field of tall grass to save a lost child and his mum. Before long they realise they can't escape the grass. No matter how far they walk in one direction, they don't get any closer to the road or their car. Every time they jump up to look for the road it's either in a different direction or further away. They're stuck.

And the story goes from there.

It's a simple idea, but King and Hill milk it efficiently, constantly cranking up the tension and mystery of the tall grass.

The writing's fluid and engaging, although a couple things niggled at me, especially the references to current-day celebrity gossip and TV shows. King's known to drop in stuff like that, but it's usually a little subtler, or it's something vague such as mentioning Will Smith or Tom Cruise as a star, rather than a specific titbit of time-sensitive relationship-or-TV show gossip. This seemed more of a Hill affectation than anything. And it grated at times. Not a lot, but enough for me to notice it. It also makes the work, by default, anachronistic.

But that's just if I'm looking for flaws.

Other than that, it's an interesting horror story and worth the 99p. Check it out.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Item as described, fast delivery, well packed – a great seller. Thanks A+++++++++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse