Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
36
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2015
Good story with exiting car chase be good as a film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2000
In terms of story, this book is fantastic. There is no doubt that Raymond Benson is a fantastic writer, but unfortunately, he continuously uses American phrases that makes you say to yourself '007 would never say that'. Despite it's Americanism 'The Facts of Death' has some terrific moments, one for example is the casino scene with Romanos which brought back memories of the classic Bond-Largo casino confrontation in Fleming's 'Thunderball' - an incredable amount of tension. A down side is that Benson over-did-it with the Jaguar and it's gadgets. This book is well worth reading and is among Benson's best so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
ALMOST AS GOOD AS IAN FLEMING'S "BOND"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 1999
I grew up with Ian Fleming's books and have always loved James Bond. I wasn't thrilled with John Gardner's books, but Raymond Benson seems to have nailed the character. There are a few Americanisms that creep in, but these are minor when compared to the fine attention to detail, the characterizations, and the thrilling plotline. I have seen some criticisms of Benson's Bond books in the British press simply because he is American. The criticism does not hold water! Cheers to Benson's Bond! "The Facts of Death" is his best yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 1999
WOW, Raymond Benson has really out done himself this time. This book is full of everything from nail bitting thrills to romance that challenges even the acient greeks. This has all the makings of Ian Flemings masterpeices and then some. I expecially liked the brand new car. I think the car chase was one of my favorite parts. Raymond Benson=007 4ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2000
His name is Benson, Raymond Benson. This brilliant book full of gadgets, guns and girls. This book has a great storyline and 007 is truly at his best. This book follows up a great version of Tommorow Never Dies and High Time to Kill both of which I have read, but this book is definately eclipses all of Mr Bensons James Bond books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2000
WOW! This is very classy; it has got to be one of the most thrilling and exciting yet. The locations are exotic, the gadgets are clever, the villains are more evil and sadistic than ever, (especially Hera Volopulous)and the girls are sexy! I also love having a peak at M's private life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2000
WOW! This is very classy; it has got to be one of the most thrilling and exciting yet. The locations are exotic, the gadgets are clever, the villains are more evil and sadistic than ever, (especially Hera Volopulous)and the girls are sexy! I also love having a peak at M's private life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2000
The Words are Not Enough!! The Facts of Death MUST be made into a film. The plot is superb and the deadly virus scenario is something new for Bond. I think that Benson is a Natural at writing Bond novels (I have read them all) and await his next book eagerly. Keep them coming, Raymond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Not Dick Francis but ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here