Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A very good compilation of so called `Boss Reggae' that comes with a nice 12 page colour booklet that has good liner notes by Ian McCann, label scans and record covers. Overall the sound quality is good (sadly, 1 or 2 have slight distortion and in parts tape warping). There's a good mix of tracks, a nice blend of classics, more familiar tracks and new to cd (18 tracks making their cd debut).

Cd 1. 1968 - 1969 (56.50mins). The key tracks here are the excellent `Sufferer' by The Kingstonians and the fierce `Come into my parlour' by The Bleechers (these are main stays of any reggae compilation worth its corn). If you don't own these 2 tracks already they are must haves. New favourites to my ears are - `How long' by Pat Kelly and the fantastic love song `Strange' by Dobby Dobson. This cd finishes with a rare version of Harry J All Stars classic `Liquidator'. Overall 8/10.

Cd 2. 1969 - 1970 (63.50mins). Opens with `Moon Hop' by Derrick Morgan, the next track is the recently discovered in the vaults `Red, red wine' (extended version - 5.57mins) by Tony Tribe. `Reggae in your Jeggae' by Dandy is a familiar classic. Other goodies are `Too experienced' by Owen Gray and `My Love & I' by Millie. Some of the later tracks aren't my bag - except `No more heartaches' by The Coloured Raisons, not as good as cd 1. Overall 7/10.

Overall, a great value for money 2 disc set with lots of goodies to discover. Recommended, also check out the recently released `Mod Ska' & `The Producers' cd's by Trojan.
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
great price good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Very good cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Fast shipping. A great CD if you love old school SKA and reggae
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
These are some first rate tunes - brings back memories from the 80s.

What could be more evocative than The Liquidator?

And as for leave pum pum? ;-)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Produced in the very late Sixties and into the early Seventies Boss Reggae is a certain style and for most people will just come under the heading Reggae. Don’t worry about whether you know what this style is all you need be bothered with is whether you are going to enjoy it or not. And really all you need to know is that boss here refers to slang in that something is the top or really cool.

For me reggae is the type of music for summer, when you kick back with a cool drink and want to relax, and also for barbecues and parties when you want to get everyone up on their feet. For large barbecues this is ideal music.

We are presented here with forty great tacks over two CDs that are guaranteed to please. If you know your reggae you will notice by the listings that this not only includes tracks from Jamaica but also from our very own shores, showing how people really took to this here. Music can help break down barriers and perhaps that is why we have problems with racism here but not like in the US, where people don’t seem to want to take in other culture’s musical styles to such an extent as us. Listening to this album you just want to break out the rum or open some bottles or cans of Red Stripe, and perhaps imbibe something to relax you.

The sound quality here is pretty good, but I should point out that there is a certain hiss at times, which some may not like, but it does sort of evoke putting your old vinyl on the turntable. In all this is a lovely collection and should go down well, so put this on, invite others around and get that jerk chicken ready. Also, the booklet accompanying this has a really good piece on Boss Reggae written by Ian McCann, from Record Collector magazine.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
A couple of tracks were ok. One was even excellent but this reminds me why I stopped wasting money on Trojon product. Too much filler. Simple: Don't waste your hard earnt on this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Trojan Presents: Boss ReggaeA selection of Trojan/Pama 45s from the late 60ts. many featured in the Tighten up This is Reggae albums that used to retail at 14/6 back in the day. Nice to see more Pama tracks getting included on this compilation. Worth it for Ronald Russels rhythum hips. Brings the time back when you listen to the compilation, other stand out tracks are Pat Kelly How long , the only reggae track to be played on the northern soul scene,and always massive in my home town Birmingham. Phyllis Dillon, Bleechers, Rudy mills all fine tracks, If you aint already got these tracks well worth it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)