Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
7
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2012
Recorded in 1983 for an American TV show almost 30 years ago - and you can hear the magic of the voice and the songs. The big mystery is there is no 'By The Time I Get To Phoenix' - but that's a minor grumble. The version of 'Galveston' is worth a tenner of anyone's money. Pop over Amazon US for 3 minute advert - MOR never sounded so go good.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Never ,and please note the word is never, will these two icons of popular music ever record or work together in any capacity again.. Campbell's onset of dementia means he will not be undertaking further tours or recording.
Jimmy Webb on the other hand continues to produce age defining quality product. His 'Just Across The River 2' set will be released in 2013. The duets album, featuring the likes of Lyle Lovett and Joe Cocker, promises to be the constant reminder just how much the Oklahoma native has crafted the music of our lifetime since the 1960's.
The 'In Session' package is value for money and excellent sound quality.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
Again a cd and dvd. It surprised me as I thought it would be the original recordings but it is the two of them recording together in 1988. So you listen to the session or listen and watch the recording session taking place. Some of the tracks are sung slower which to me dosen't help. "The Moon is a Harsh Mistress" a standout.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
BEWARE if like me you were hoping for a nice semi-unplugged Geln Campbell cd to accompany the DVD. the 2 stars are for the ok 40 minute tv special. Minus stars for the awful CD which is more or less a direct copy including interviews at start of songs (& DURING MacArthur Park!). Although the opening segment of Phoenix is cut from the CD the following interview snippet is left as part of the first song proper, so its not as if edits weren't possible. So whereas the DVD is mildly interesting the audio is a complete waste
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
GLEN CAMPBELL AND JIMMY WEBB
IN SESSION...

Disc 1 (CD)

9 TRACKS [All songs composed by Jimmy Webb]
(In alphabetical order)

TRK#-TITLE

03 GALVESTON
02 IF THESE WALLS COULD SPEAK
01 LIGHT YEARS
05 MacARTHUR PARK
09 STILL WITHIN THE SOUND OF MY VOICE
08 SUNSHOWER
04 WHERE'S THE PLAYGROUND SUZIE
08 WICHITA LINEMAN

From Wiki*

Disc 2 (DVD)
ACT I

Excerpt from "By The Time I Get To Phoenix" - 1:28

Jimmy Webb on meeting Glen for the first time - 1:00

"Light Years" - 3:28

Glen and Jimmy discuss "If These Walls Could Speak" - 1:12

"If These Walls Could Speak" - 3:00

Glen and Jimmy discuss "Galveston" - 1:25

"Galveston" - 3:02

Glen and Jimmy discuss "Where's the Playground Susie" - 0:37

"Where's the Playground Susie" - 2:18

"MacArthur Park" - 7:30

ACT II

Excerpt from "Almost Alright Again" - 1:14

Jimmy Webb on "Wichita Lineman" - 1:00

"Wichita Lineman" - 3:07

Jimmy Webb on "The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress" - 0:53

"The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress" - 3:00

Jimmy Webb on "By the Time I Get to Phoenix" - 3:25

Glen and Jimmy discuss on "Honey Come Back" and "Sunshower" - 1:00

"Sunshower" - 2:44

"Still Within the Sound of My Voice" - 3:54
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
one of my favourite singers,I have most of his music,the only thing that didn't please me was that the whole CD and DVD were far too short,otherwise it was brilliant,thank you. John Griffin
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
great cd and dvd set from 1988, and unreleased songs as well, very pleased in deed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)