Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
127
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 November 2012
'Teenage Kicks' is admittedly yet another of the kind of record company albums that re-compile a lot of the same old songs, put them in a different order with a different sleeve, add a smattering of unusual or lesser known tracks and then unleash them on faithful fans. This said, for punters young enough not to have known most of this stuff at the time, this particular collection is both a good education and a cracking listen...

Sure, as many here have pointed out, there is nothing here by The Clash or The Sex Pistols but I suspect this is more likely down to licensing issues than a glaring mistake by the compilers. Having worked in the music merchandise industry I know how difficult it can be sometimes to obtain official items by even the most obvious of bands due to the fact that many of the copyright owners want far too much for the right to produce even something like a small tin badge. For this reason, I am basing my judgement on this collection with a sympathetic tone rather than a critical one...

And so to the music...

Well, pretty much all of the material on all three CD's here is decent. Many are considered punk/new wave classics and a few like Stiff Little Fingers 'Alternative Ulster', The Chords 'Maybe Tomorrow' and Bill Nelsons Red Noise 'Revolt Into Style' were the kind of records at the time which did well amongst hardcore fans but failed to really cross over into the charts in any major way. Tracks like these make an interesting diversion from the bog standard expected tracks like The Stranglers 'Peaches', The Ruts 'Babylons Burning' and The Knack's much over compiled 'My Sharona'. Also nice is the inclusion of 'the other Secret Affair hit' 'My World'. Nowhere near as big a success as the also included 'Time For Action' its inclusion as a 'record that changed everything' is stretching its credibility a bit but it does give those of us who already have 90% of these records already a reason to consider buying this as well.

As with most compilations, the sound quality here varies a little and at times the running order and inclusion of multiple tracks by the same artist (some more essential and true to the title of this compilation than others) is a bit disappointing but overall for those wanting either a quick education or a trip down memory lane this is a decent set.

Worth investigating at least.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
This is a great triple cd of great music from a fantastic 5 year period for music. All the best artists from the day are on here and even a few rarities. They all seem to blend in together well.
Anyone who has a similar type of cd may not find a great deal new to them on here, but as its my first I'm impressed.
I have a fair bit of music from this time period already, greatest hits and compilations etc but still got about 14 tracks that were not in my collection.
This has been a great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I was really surprised how good this album is. It brought back lots of memories. Well worth buying, value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
takes you back to the day, I would recommend this to all those who remember the 70's / 80's with fond memories
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
How any one can give 1 star for this i will never know ?. yes there is plenty albums from that era , too Manny you may think . but for me its one of the best ones out so for. i was in my late teens back then and its all good for me . Go for it you will not regret it
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Speedy delivery.
Great tunes - most of them. Fab playing it loud in your car - it brightens your journey home from work.
Recommended the discs to friends
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Great service and great music, if your into this era of music. I personnally think this is the best era for music but thats just my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
fab music brilliant delivery no complaints great artists with great sounds bought it as a gift everybody loved it money well spent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
One of an ever-growing list of nostalgic compilations featuring punk, new wave and ska hits from the late 1970's and early 1980's. This popular budget-priced 60 song collection makes a reasonable job out of it. There are many memorable moments spread across Teenage Kicks 1977-1981 that still make my heart skip a beat, such as Pil's 'Public Image', The Specials 'Ghost Town' and Magazine's 'Shot By Both Sides', as well as plenty of fine - if highly predictable - selections from commercially successful groups like The Jam, The Stranglers, Madness, and the Pretenders.

However, this 3-and-a bit-hour survey of a significant period in rock history isn't without its faults. There is nothing here by heavy hitters The Clash and Sex Pistols; an undeniable Anglo-centric bias on the part of its compilers, and no post-punk from the likes of Gang of Four and Wire. Subtitling it "The Music That Changed Everything" also seems hubristic- did Tenpole Tudor's 'Swords Of A 1000 Men' or The Vapors' 'Turning Japanese' really turn anybody's world upside down? Whilst the inclusion of Junior Murvin's reggae classic 'Police and Thieves' felt tokenistic. That is why I have to say I prefer Demon Music Group's comparably priced 100 Hits: Punk & New Wave to this unimaginatively named TV-advertised 3 CD set: it is bigger and far more daring in its selection of material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Whilst this has all the requisite tracks from the period, there is one flaw : the
complete lack of bona fide Reggae songs from the period. Only Junior Murvin ? Where
are Culture,Burning Spear and Max Romeo ? They released music far more important than Bad Manners or The Vapors in this period so why overlook them ? Many of these tracks are available on many compilations so why not show a bit more imagination ? Where, for that matter, are any Dub tracks ? That music was likewise as much a part of the soundtrack to this period as The Specials. Look at the 12" version of Ghost Town.
These omissions make this simply "OK" as a compilation. Buy it by all means but supplement with a copy of "Dread Meets Punk Rockers Uptown" and see which one you end up playing the most. There are some notable Soul omissions as well but you get my point. Too orientated to a particular image and style.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)