Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 2 March 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Bought for my step dad for xmas, he thoroughly enjoyed this 3 cd set for his car journey to work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
great music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 November 2012
'Teenage Kicks' is admittedly yet another of the kind of record company albums that re-compile a lot of the same old songs, put them in a different order with a different sleeve, add a smattering of unusual or lesser known tracks and then unleash them on faithful fans. This said, for punters young enough not to have known most of this stuff at the time, this particular collection is both a good education and a cracking listen...

Sure, as many here have pointed out, there is nothing here by The Clash or The Sex Pistols but I suspect this is more likely down to licensing issues than a glaring mistake by the compilers. Having worked in the music merchandise industry I know how difficult it can be sometimes to obtain official items by even the most obvious of bands due to the fact that many of the copyright owners want far too much for the right to produce even something like a small tin badge. For this reason, I am basing my judgement on this collection with a sympathetic tone rather than a critical one...

And so to the music...

Well, pretty much all of the material on all three CD's here is decent. Many are considered punk/new wave classics and a few like Stiff Little Fingers 'Alternative Ulster', The Chords 'Maybe Tomorrow' and Bill Nelsons Red Noise 'Revolt Into Style' were the kind of records at the time which did well amongst hardcore fans but failed to really cross over into the charts in any major way. Tracks like these make an interesting diversion from the bog standard expected tracks like The Stranglers 'Peaches', The Ruts 'Babylons Burning' and The Knack's much over compiled 'My Sharona'. Also nice is the inclusion of 'the other Secret Affair hit' 'My World'. Nowhere near as big a success as the also included 'Time For Action' its inclusion as a 'record that changed everything' is stretching its credibility a bit but it does give those of us who already have 90% of these records already a reason to consider buying this as well.

As with most compilations, the sound quality here varies a little and at times the running order and inclusion of multiple tracks by the same artist (some more essential and true to the title of this compilation than others) is a bit disappointing but overall for those wanting either a quick education or a trip down memory lane this is a decent set.

Worth investigating at least.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I was really surprised how good this album is. It brought back lots of memories. Well worth buying, value for money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
takes you back to the day, I would recommend this to all those who remember the 70's / 80's with fond memories
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Speedy delivery.
Great tunes - most of them. Fab playing it loud in your car - it brightens your journey home from work.
Recommended the discs to friends
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2016
This is a great triple cd of great music from a fantastic 5 year period for music. All the best artists from the day are on here and even a few rarities. They all seem to blend in together well.
Anyone who has a similar type of cd may not find a great deal new to them on here, but as its my first I'm impressed.
I have a fair bit of music from this time period already, greatest hits and compilations etc but still got about 14 tracks that were not in my collection.
This has been a great buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Great service and great music, if your into this era of music. I personnally think this is the best era for music but thats just my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)