Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
A Long Way to Fall
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 March 2013
In case Ulrich's more cacophonic tendencies aren't your thing, (I like it all, but I know some prefer his less edgy tracks) have no fear - this is up there with the best of his more melodic and reflective pieces from 'A Strangely Isolated Place' and 'Goodbye'.
If you've been a long-time follower, there are a few tracks that hark back to some of the mp3s he gave away free many years ago, in particular two from around 2006 or so, IIRC 'Ordeal' and 'Attraktor' are echoed in this album's consistently beautiful music.

My only issue is the packaging. Ulrich's albums have often come in cardboard sleeves with a plastic CD tray, I'm fine with that.
Maybe I'm just OCD about these things, but...
This one came in a booklet-style card case with a few pages of photographs - and the CD in a card pocket at the back, the sort of pocket that almost necessitates manhandling the CD to remove it, frequently doing so inevitably scuffs the disc. I hate this kind of packaging. I'd much rather the CD had a proper tray, however else it was packaged.

Rant over. Excellent album otherwise!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2017
Ignoring the bewildering track 2, Broken Homes, this is the most cohesive album by Ulrich Schnauss so far. Trouser flapping bass in parts without a hint of distortion and sheer excellence throughout. The cd album cover is also quality, no plastic jewel case or thin cardboard cover here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2016
One of his very best albums to date. Excellent music and some really excellent bass sounds. Well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2015
Good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2013
ok. i am a huge fan but this cd is just not as good as previous past efforts. their are about 3 good songs on it. but the rest just drones on. not the beautiful music that he usually produces. its one of those cds that you hear once or twice but just dont get the urge to play it again. total disppointment.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2013
Have always been a huge fan of Ulrich, since seeing him at the Big Chill in 2002, where he took the audience by storm. This album, though darker than his first two, is sublime! Lusciously produced and beautifully packaged, this is electronica at its very best. If you are unfamiliar with his earlier work, then "Faraway Trains Passing By" is, in my opinion, a true masterpiece. "A long Way to Fall" builds on his earlier work, adding new layers and complexities. Buy it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2013
Rich, warm analogue soundscapes.Ulrich has blended a masterpiece of uplifting melancholy building on his previous work.
Songs have a more recognizable structure but all have the trademark Schnauss glisten and chime.
Love the chords and key changes on 'Like A Ghost in Your Life' and harder sonics of 'I Take Comfort In Your Ignorance'
A must buy for any fan of Ulrich ...looking forward to the next collaboration with Mark Peters of Engineers currently in the works !!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2013
This is another grower.

At first it didn't compare to his earlier work....but it keeps coming back on my hifi and I think it has some outstanding tracks.

Well worth several listens
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2013
This album seems more introspective and perhaps less accessible than earlier works, continuing a trend set in the "Underrated Silence" album with Mark Peters. Bear with it - it grows on you, and creates resonances with your own experience of life. More complex and less hard-edged than Ulrich's early albums, it's a very worthwhile addition to my collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2013
Ulrich continues with the massive ambient soundscapes of his previous albums, but maybe the sound is more dense, like a big wall right in front of you.

Upon first listen, it is, what you'd been hoping for. Melodious, ambient, soft dark tones abound. He's pitched it just right. It's a development on his sound so far, and in some ways doesn't stray too far away, but in others, it's a refreshing new look on his music.

I love it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Passage
£13.72

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)