Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Specialty - the small independent label that had more than its fair share of BIG names and BIG characters - Little Richard, Larry Williams, Lloyd Price, Sam Cooke and Jesse Belvin to name only a few. There's so many great rock n' roll tracks on here mixed in with Doo Wop - the first 8 tracks on side one set the tone for the whole compilation. I must say the track selection in my opinion is very good, the compilers could have easily crammed it full of the big names hits, in-stead they have given us a wide choice of material from many different artists. This compilation has great sound quality considering these are mid 50's tracks (1952 - 1958) only one or two are a little less clear. As usual with these `One Day Music' compilations there's no booklet but there's a one sided introduction to the labels history. On the up side this is a very good 2 disc set. Snap up a copy now.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 April 2014
The SPECIALTY label was founded by Art Rupe in 1946 and survived into the 1960s.
This excellent bargain 2-CD set features 50 fascinating SPECIALTY tracks including 1950s' classics such as Little Richard's 'Rip It Up', Larry Williams' 'Bony Moronie', Lloyd Price's 'Lawdy Miss Clawdy', Guitar Slim's 'The Things That I Used To Do', John Lee Hooker's 'I'm Mad', Sam Cooke's 'I'll Come Running Back To You' and Tony Allen & The Chimes 'Night Owl'.
I can't recall many of the 50 tracks getting much airplay during the 1950s but 'Rip It Up - The Specialty Story' is a varied and entertaining collection which somehow manages to capture the spirit of that long-lost decade.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
It's fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
At long last i can keep my Original 45's safe and play this C.D. instead of Hum Drum well known classics ..This Great Album Digs Deep into the Vaults of one of the Best Labels of the 50's and early pre Beatle 60's. Many classics you'll know but this comp also includes many Rarities that the second generation of R'n'R and Rockabilly lovers bopped and jived to in the 80's.Well done yet again to the cats at One Day Music ...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 February 2016
HISTORY:

Specialty Records was oe of the American record labels that helped shape the course of 20th-century music. It was founded by Art Rupe. He started Specialty Records in 1946. In 1951, Specialty switched format from 78rpm disc to the new 45rpm single. There were many major artists on the label, from Larry Williams, Lloyd Price, Little Richard, Sam Cooke and Don & Dewey. Sonny Bono worked with Specialty as a producer and songwriter. Rupe carried the label on into the Sixties, even recording Little Richard again when he returned to the secular world, but with diminishing success. Refusing to pay for airplay, Art eventually retired from music. The label was finally sold to Fantasy Records in 1990. Art Rupe was given the Ahmet Ertegun Award by the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame in 2010, and his legend lives on.

CONTENT:

This 2 CD has 50 songs. I have compiled the song listing (with chart position, year & personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Rip It Up – Little Richard (US 17/1956; R&B 1(2)/1956)
02 Bonnie Maronie – Larry Williams (US 14/1957; R&B 4/1957)
03 Goodbye Baby Goodbye – Sonny Lowery (uncharted single, 1958)
04 Lights Out – Jerry Byrne (uncharted single, 1958)
05 Cherokee Dance- Bob Landers With Willie Joe & His Unitar (uncharted single, 1956)
06 Lawdy Miss Clawdy – Lloyd Price (R&B 1(7)/1952)*rare gem; his first Number 1 hit; he changed label to ABC-Paramount in 1957, when his other major hits followed: Personality, Stagger Lee and I’m Gonna Get Married
07 Touch And Go – Wynona Carr (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; written by Sonny Bono **also found in Dizzy Miss Lizzy The Specialty Story CD
08 I’ll Come Running Back To You – Sam Cooke (US 18/1957; R&B 1/1957)*his only charted hit on Specialty record label
09 Rich Woman – Li’l Millet & His Creoles (uncharted single, 1955)
10 Oh-Rooba-Lee – Arthur Lee Maye & The Crowns (uncharted single, 1956)
11 The Things That I Used To Do – Guitar Slim & His Band (R&B 1(14)/1954)*rare gem
12 Chop Chop – The Chimes (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; duo-wop group from Brooklyn
13 Just To Hold My Hand – Big Boy Myles (uncharted single, 1956)
14 Over the Rainbow – The Echoes (uncharted single, 1957)
15 Cha Donky-Dee – Art Neville (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; brother of Aaron Neville; member of the Meters and the Neville Brothers
16 Where’s My Girl – Jesse Belvin (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; his biggest hits: Dream Girl (Jesse and Marvin)(2/1953), Goodnight My Love (Pleasant Dreams)(7/1958), later sung by Paul Anka and Guess Who (7/1959)
17 Something’s Goin’ On In My Room – Daddy Cleanhead (uncharted single, 1954)
18 Justine – Don & Dewey (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; Don “Sugarcane” Harris and Dewey Terry
19 One Romance – Clyde King (uncharted single, 1957)
20 I’m Mad – John Lee Hooker (uncharted single, 1954)
21 Love You So – The Crystals (uncharted single, 1958)
22 Eating And Sleeping – Earl King (uncharted single, 1954)
23 Drunk – Jimmy Liggins & His 3-D Music (uncharted single, 1953)*credit should be given for such an original group title 3-D Music!
24 Free And Easy – The Titans (uncharted single, 1957)
25 Twitchy – Rene Hall Orchestra (uncharted single, 1957)

Disc 2:
01 Slow Down – Larry Williams (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; Beatles also recorded this song
02 The Girl Can’t Help It – Little Richard (US 49/1957; R&B 7/1957)
03 Rock ‘N’ Roll Dance – Lloyd Price (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem; before his biggest hits Stagger Lee (1958), Personality (1959)
04 Hiccups – Roddy Jackson (uncharted single, 1958)
05 Sack – Ben Hughes (uncharted single, 1958)
06 Zindy Lou – The Chimes (uncharted single, 1953)*rare gem
07 I Don’t Want To Cry – Sam Cooke (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem
08 I’m Leaving It All Up To You – Don & Dewey (uncharted single, 1957)*rare gem
09 Carry On – Jerry Byrne (uncharted single, 1958)
10 Nursery Rhyme Rock – Wynona Carr (uncharted single, 1956)
11 Funny Face – Earl King (uncharted single, 1954) )*his charted hit Don’t Take It So Hard can be found in King Records Story compilation
12 Do Baby Do – Ernest Kador (uncharted single, 1955)**also found in Dizzy Miss Lizzy Specialty Record Story collection
13 Open Up Your Heart – Eugene Church & Group (uncharted single, 1957)
14 Squeeze Box Boogie – Clifton Chenier (uncharted single, 1955)
15 Wheel Of Fortune – The Four Flames (uncharted single, 1952)
16 Loveable – Dale Cook (aka Sam Cooke)(uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem
17 Haunted House – Johnny Fuller (uncharted single, 1958)
18 Dream Girl – Jesse & Marvin (uncharted single, 1952)
19 Bloodstains On The Wall – Honeyboy (uncharted single, 1953)
20 That Mellow Saxophone – Roy Montrell (uncharted single, 1956) )**also found in Dizzy Miss Lizzy Specialty Record Story collection
21 Baby Doll – Marvin & Johnny (uncharted single, 1953)
22 Ooh Bop She Bo – The Dukes (uncharted single, 1954)**also found in Dizzy Miss Lizzy Specialty Record Story collection
23 Arlene – The Titans (uncharted single, 1958)
24 Night Owl – Tony Allen & The Chimes (uncharted single, 1955)
25 Mama Linda – The Monitors (uncharted single, 1958)

The sound is very well remastered, vibrant, clean with no hiss. The songs are all original versions.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

One Day Music has released over 100 sets on various labels, and I am glad that I have purchased them all. There are actually two separate volumes on the Specialty Record Story. This current one was released in 2012, while a 3 CD set called Dizzy Miss Lizzy was released in 2013 (my review elsewhere). Since I have both volumes, I have compared the song listing, and glad to report that there are only about 4 repeats in the second volume. When you listen to this set, you can hear the raw music from the 50s.
This set is recommended for people who like raw R&B music of the 50s.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
only liked a few tracks expected a better selection of songs from SPECIALTY. apart from little richard larry williams and lloyd price not very impressed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Jerry Byrne's Lights Out - the most exciting two minutes of vinyl in the history of rock and roll music. The other 49 tracks are pretty, pretty good, too. No brainer - buy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Founded by Art Rupe in the 1950s, Speciality Records recorded Little Richard, Sam Cooke, Larry Williams and Lloyd Price and laid down some of the most exciting, inspirational and enjoyable music of the time. There are 50 tracks on this double CD at an unbelievable cheap price and there are some gems tucked away including Guitar Slim’s ‘The Things That I Used To Do’, Roy Montrell’s delightful ’ That Mellow Saxophone’, and Jimmy Liggins with his evergreen ’Drunk’ and several more. Unequivocally recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Just brilliant and hardly a dull moment. Some lesser known [to me anyway] gems from this great label which were instantly hooky though I didn't like Guitar Slim and his band but that was my only 'no no'. Cherokee Dance was new to me and I loved it along with 'Sack' by Ben Hughes, so entertaining and immediate. At this price you can't go wrong. As usual with anything Amazon related the service was perfection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
Really Great! Having grown up during the 1950s l Remember most of these Great Records! They,re Heavenly
and l can,t get enough of these Rockin" Gems!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse