Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2013
Have to say I am really disappointed in this book. As an aviation enthusiast, was looking forward to reading about life on the cutting edge of aircraft development, narrow escapes etc. etc. This book has none of that. Just a collection of stories by the test pilots themselves who, as you would expect, are the best pilots around but are also used to describing things in a mechanical and almost robotic style with no frills. Not their fault but doesn't make a good read and not even any 'inside' information on the various aircraft that your average aircraft enthusiast wouldn't already know.
Having read this book I think, if an aircraft actually blew up, it would probably be described as "cockpit became a little draughty, noticed aircraft no longer there, pulled rip cord, landed, had a cuppa."
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
A fascinating insight into the testing of new aircraft, written in a largely non-technical style it makes a darn good read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Anyone interested in aviation in the modern age will enjoy this. Exciting, seriously understated rendering of exciting moments in the cockpit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Excellent book, some unbelievable fascinating stories. Very brave pilots with stories well written. I want to read more of the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
If you like detailed, often a bit technical, short flying stories, that's the book for you. No extra, no padding, honest!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
We use the word hero for all sorts of ridiculous reasons these days, even for someone kicking a ball into a net, but these guys really were worthy of such a description. They went about their hazardous profession with a minimum of fuss for our benefit. Scary and fascinating just reading about it especially if you know a bit about aerodynamics. Another one that was difficult to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
What a read, fantastic, unbelievable accounts of a test pilot with all of the dangers that go with the title, i nreally could not put this book down. If you have any interest in aviation this is for you, flying planes from their beginings to becoming icons and legends of the sky. read it, enjoy it, i found it so exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2016
A really good collection of anecdotes from a broad selection of test pilots from across the decades. As other reviewers have said the language used is calm and analytical, but that's how test pilots work, even if death is possibly only a few seconds away. I enjoyed reading this book and can recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I chose this rating because it was a great read about "hairy" moments for the "creme de la creme" of pilots, the test pilot. I thoroughly enjoyed the read and would recommend it to aviation fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2014
Great collection of tales from the edge of flight, highlighting the dangers and achievements of these group of brave men. If you have an interest in planes, this is a must read! Good photos too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)