Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
11
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£2.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
First up, Amazon list the second track on this remix CD single as the "believe in PSB" mix. It isn't - on the CD version I bought it is the 6:14 HappySad remix by Andrew Dawson. And it's a very good stripped-back downtempo electronica affair too, all spacey, echoey vocals, strings and oboe: i like it a lot. Something of a splice-and- dice approach taken to the lyrics as Moby did on his remix of Miserabalism. The demo version of Leaving is decent enough - very like the album/single version but without the polishing. But I'm afraid I don't like the 11+mins Lost Her Love remix much - Leaving doesn't strike me as a song that suits an overt uptempo remix. It starts off sounding vaguely like very early U2 to my ears, then we get some awful demo-ish atonal piano before the squelchy bass kicks in just shy of the 2mins mark and it makes me start to think of mid-1990s PSB remixed by Trouser Enthusiasts, only nowhere near as good. It picks up in the last third but overall, its a bit of a mess and sounds dated. Stick with the HappySad remix. Haven't checked out the PSB own remixes on download yet - this is taking me back to the good old days of ZTT's multi-format releases for Frankie Goes to Hollywood and Art of Noise!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The weight of the record is 180 grams (as for audiophile records) but the sound quality is very poor because of narrow frequency and dynamic range. Unfortunately it became a bad tradition for PSB vinyl single releases. At least their 'Miracles' and 'Did You See Me Coming?' 12"s play terribly poor with a lot of distortions. Has anyone reported the fact to Parlophone, or all PSB fans prefer to pretend that everything is fine? Or everybody buy the records just to collect but not to play?
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
A great amazon seller I am very pleased with my purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
My recommendation is... BUY THE 12" FOR THE SLEEVE
BUY THE 'SIDE BY SIDE' REMIX AS A DOWNLOAD
BUY 'IN HIS IMAGINATION' AS A DOWNLOAD

One stand out song on this collection and that is 'In his imagination'(with beautiful backing vocals by Berlin-based Canadian artist and singer-songwriter Joel Gibb), as for the rest, two OK tracks (the bizarre Brecht like 'Hell' bizarre both lyrically and as regards subject matter, and 'Baby 2003 Demo'... nice tune with little content) the remixes are truly AWFUL! (especially the PSB lauded Dusty Kid 'Lost her love' remix... 8 minutes 30 seconds into it before you get anything remotely resembling a 'tune' and The Andrew Dawson remixes are DULLBORING (adding some BBC Sound Effects does not a remix make!) ...they don't bear any further listening).

The self remixed 'Side by Side' mix is great but to collect all the different tracks the PSB's have released you would have to buy SEVEN formats (1 x 12" (Worth buying for the artwork alone (a beautiful black & white portrait of Neil with a polaroid style inner sleeve) . 1 x 7"(Again, beautiful artwork and inner sleeve on very heavy vinyl, both vinyl releases as far as ARTWORK quality are superior and on a par with 1980/90's PSB releases). 2 x CD Single (miserly cheap card sleeved cd singles). 3 x Digital Download EP's) and that would set you back a staggering £25.00+ (plus postage if you buy from the official site).

Whether through pure GREED on behalf of the boys themselves / record company, or alternatively and more likely a desperate attempt to force this release into the charts through multi formatting. Either way it's a disgrace, the ONLY people who buy PSB songs these days are the hardcore fans who will buy everything, but some of us are not 'grateful you have given' us this and want something DECENT in return for our 'small fee', You might have 'lowe expectations' Chris but the fans do not! Another chart flop!?

***** UPDATE 'Leaving' entered the Official BBC charts at Number 44! ***** (21/09/12). UPDATE 28/09/12... and left the BBC TOP 100 again a week later.

I read that the PSB's approved of the recent trend where songs chart over a long period of time, and build up a following, it will be interesting to see how long 'Leaving' lasts in the BBC Chart.

To get all the PHYSICAL content you need to buy the 12" the 7" and two CD's costing £19 minimum without postage.
To get the 'Leaving again' download with it's exclusive tracks is a further £1.99. The Digital download 'Leaving Remixed' contains the Pet Shop Boys 'Believe in PSB remix' which in NOT on the CD version, so that's a further £1.99. Cost to DIEHARD fans... £23.00 plus postage. That someone (Record company / Management / PSB's ?) should deliberately plan to rip off fans (ie putting the 'Believe in PSB' remix on the 'Leaving Remixed' download but not on the CD of the same name), and other such manoeuvres and therefore make it impossible to collect these tracks without spending a large amount of money, is truly shameful!

All of these tracks could have been released over two CD's, with two download packages containing the same material, therefore giving fans a choice of whether to buy physical or download.
To charge £4.00 for each CD's single (plus postage on the official site... or buy with the 12" as a bundle and save a POUND!) WITHOUT all the tracks, and to release 2 digital EP's and then an EXTRA Download EP (Leaving Again) is beyond a joke.

No no-one is forcing me to buy anything, but nearly £25.00 for 3 new tracks (one of which is a Demo) plus 6 versions including the already released album version of 'Leaving' (and the Demo of 'Leaving' over TWO formats, plus the PSB Freedom mix & Dusty Kid mix which are basically DUB versions) all spread over 7 formats is bad value. I doubt anyone would listen to the non PSB remixes more than once or twice.

I understand artists can release below par 'product' but to spread it over so MANY formats each with a morsel (something exclusive a FAN would want), is hitting a bit below the belt, Fans should be rewarded not EXPLOITED. By buying these multi-formats it's the fans who will rocket this up the mid-week charts (like previous releases) and the general music public realisation that they too are being ripped off, and that at the end of the day that most of the songs aren't very good that will see it PLUMMET right back out the charts at the end of this week or next!

The majority of diehard fans WILL want all formats so my statement is not preposterous, the fact that their releases enter the chart then fall sharply the next week illustrates that as a fact! If they were winning new fans of a song that song would stay in the charts longer. Fans have a right to have an opinion, some say that 'all the content is very good' but I wouldn't rubbish their view with statements like 'I don't care what you consider 'decent''? or calling me an imbecile. Why are PSB fans SO aggressive? - minus a point for them :)
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
siguen siendo los mismos de siempre. excelente. se mantienen vigentes a traves de los años!!!!! y ojala sigan asi. fabuloso.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Singles released by the PSB are always great because of the bonus tracks not found on the original release. This is definitely recommended for any serious fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Another great song by the pet shop boys,great lyrics and a catchy tune too!Overall a five star score again and well woth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
This is a great edition to my collection & of high quality too. I don't know why there was know winner 12"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99
£0.99
£3.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)