Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
445
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2013
Another film I wasn't expecting much from. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the first one and felt it had a few funny moments. I didn't think much of the second film and was dragged along with the kids to see this.
This is Very funny, good clean family fun. An original chapter that deserved the critics reviews it received.
In short it's another attempt of the animals trying to get back home.
The penguins don't get as much airtime as the others which was a shame as I like them but the rest are very good and the relationships are great. The 3d worked very well and didn't feel tacked on.
Very much one for young and old with some excellent replay value.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
DreamWorks Madagascar 3 in 3D is a visual treat and anyone interested in a great 3D experience should own this title. The 3D is the best I have seen so far. The 7.1 sound is of reference quality as well. The movie is 4 of 5. 3D is 5 of 5! Just superb!

Watched it on a Panasonic plasma 50" with active 3D.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
Madagascar 3 and still very funny,normally they struggle to keep up the gags and interest,but this made me laugh quite often even if doesn't have quite the charm of the original. This time round we focus on these brilliant characters finding life in the circus,introducing us to more great characters,including a bear on a bike and a tiger that leaps through tiny hoops,hoops far smaller than him,very amusing stuff.
Although this isn't quite as good as the first,it is still well worth watching and buying. One thing that really stood out for me,the colours,amazing colours,certain to open the eyes of youngsters. Once again brilliant animation and voice overs and good reason to hope for a Madagascar 4.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Great film, fantastic 3D the best madagscar film so far. The 3D comes out of the screen the film is just amazing and very funny and its muti-region so u can play it in the uk. Save going to the pictures right now when u can watch the film at home. Extras are pretty good to and excellant picture and great film for all the family. A must have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
This is a joyous romp of a movie. It's bright, colourful and action packed.

Our animal protagonists start the movie stranded in Africa and awaiting the return of the penguins who have gone to Monaco to gamble at the casinos. Tired of waiting, our heroes track them down before falling foul of a psychopathic animal control inspector who proceeds to pursue them across Europe.

Having crashed their Heath Robinson flying machine the animals hitch a lift with a decrepit circus. They learn that the circus is to be auditioned by an American agent for a gig in New York. Seeing an opportunity to get home the animals convince the circus animals that they are great circus performers and agree to train their rescuers in return for a chance to try out with the circus for passage to New York.

This is the cue for all sorts of physics-defying lunacy before the animals stage a psychedelic spectacular for an amazed audience.

As a 2nd sequel this is a pretty good film. Despite the one star detractors among the reviewers I think it holds up well against the first two films. There are new characters, plenty of action and the hopes, doubts and dreams of the circus animals drive the emotional core of the story. Yes it could be interpreted as giving a message that animals belong in a circus but only if you over-think it. After all, what circus has trapeze walking giraffes and hippos? Where would you see a sea lion or a zebra blown out of a cannon? It's too fantastic to take seriously.

Buy the movie, a big bag of popcorn and some drinks and enjoy a family night with the kids. You could do a lot worse.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO (2D):

Madagascar 3 (2D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. The transfer is defined by a dazzling display of rich colour and clarity. It delivers every hue with brilliant accuracy and vibrancy, all of them nearly blinding but nevertheless balanced and pleasant to the eye. Details are exceptional, too. The image is richly complex and breathtakingly sharp. The 1080p resolution captures the finest little traces of animated texturing evident on a variety of surfaces, from rusty metal to fury bodies. This is a reference grade presentation from start to finish. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Madagasgar 3 (3D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. Besides all the good qualities described above, the transfer is also spectacular, stupendous and sensational. The 3D effects are simply out of this world. Right from the get-go during Alex's dream, the faces and noses of characters burst through the screen and often dangle inside my Lee TheatreHD home theatre. Melman's elongated face, in particular, does this to great effect quite a bit thanks to his long neck. The car chase in Monte Carlo is one the most exciting because objects occasionally fly all over the place with every explosion and threaten to smack you in the face. The presentation comes with astonishing depth and dimensionality, as separation of the background from the foreground is consistent throughout. Much of the picture has a fantastic pop-up book effect with a convincing sense of space and distance. This 3D version is definitely of demo quality and one of the best in 2012. Dreamworks have done a great job, and is edging very close to Pixar/Disney. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Both the 3D and 2D versions have the same fantastic Dolby TrueHD 7.1 lossless track, which serves as the perfect complement to the jaw-dropping video. This is a big, robust sound presentation that is as sonically well defined as the image is visually precise. The track brings the world of Madagascar to life with startling efficiency and clarity. Sound spreads around the stage with a natural presence and high energy. The rears are used often for ambient effects, like the soothing sounds of the wilderness, the bustling noise of the city or the excited cheers of spectators. Dialogue is well-prioritized and intelligible amid the chaos and laughter, making this a highly-engaging and fun lossless mix. The choice of voices for different characters is also excellent: Ben Stiller as Alex, Chris Rock as Marty, David Schwimmer as Melman, Sacha Baron Cohen as Julien, and Cedric The Entertainer as Maurice. The overall result leaves us with a completely satisfied sound experience. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Madagascar 3 has an estimated budget of $145 million, and the worldwide gross was $742 million!

Did you notice that on the ship at the end that is headed to Madagascar, DuBois' crew are in crates on the upper deck. On the sides of the crates is stenciled Freedom Fries, Freedom Dressing, Freedom Toast and Freedom Dip Sandwiches, a popular joke in the USA to eliminate the name "French" from certain foods?

PACKAGING:

This set comes with 3 discs: 3D blu ray disc, blu ray disc and DVD disc, plus Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This is the 3rd instalment of the Madagascar franchise. Finally bringing the journey back home full circle, Madagascar 3 is a hilarious eye-dazzler, bursting with energy and a great deal of heart. Ben Stiller (Alex), Chris Rock (Marty), David Schwimmer (Melman) and Jada Pinkett Smith (Gloria) reprise their roles and make a few new friends in Martin Short (Stefano), Bryan Cranston (Vitaly), Jessica Chastain (Gia) and Frances McDormand (Captain Chantel DeBois). It is a fun new addition to the quartet's misadventures back to New York and arguably the best of the franchise. As far as video and audio presentation, this third segment is also the best of them all, especially with very immersive 3D experience. If you have a 3D TV and blu ray player, the 3D version is definitely preferred, and is highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
I love watching this movie with my children, but it is completely crazy. If you can follow the plot, you're doing very well. However, it's choc-full of jokes, the animation is second to none, it has all the characters in full force from the other two Madagascars plus the addition of Francis McDormand in a truly hilarious role.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
182 five star reviews about this extraordinary smash hit animation says it all really. I'd say it was the best animated film this year, without a doubt. There is so much to love and enjoy in this movie. First off, the visual effects are incredible. The storyline is fantastic, it was so realistic and fun, and the voice talents of the likes of Chris Rock, Ben Stiller, David Schwimmer etc are wonderful, each character in the movie is special in their own way, they each played their character so, so well, Ben Stiller & Chris Rock were fantastic, all I can say is that they must have been real fun to work with during filming. The additional characters, such as Gia, Stefano and Vitaly were also so very unique and were voiced to perfection. I could go on and on about every little detail, but I think you know what I thought of this movie! Now it's you're turn, get yourself a copy of this animated triumph, it's the best Madagascar movie yet! You really have to appreciate and enjoy this wonderful movie for yourself. It will not let you down, I can guarantee that. No one can rate this film poorly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Great follow up to the first two films that saw the animals dumped on the Island of Madagascar where they met the awful but compelling King Julian (voiced by Sacha Baron Cohen), and how they escaped to the mainland of Africa, home for their species. Discovering that life in the wild does not live up to their expectations, they travel across Europe in a bid to final make it back to New York and their beloved zoo. But, how does a group of wild animals travel incognito through mainland Europe? By joining the circus, of course. Join them in their latest (and last) adventure as they consider what they really want, and how they get it in this spectacular and fast moving end of the trilogy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Really good film, its always my daughters first choice and i dont mind as its funny for adults to! Defo reccommend, it has good music and doesnt get on adults nerves after watching it over and over again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse