Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
82
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2013
Based on a true life 'murder', this was very interesting and as far fetched as only true life can be. Ryan Gosling's performance as the husband was very disturbing.
Great chemistry between the two leads. Well worth a look.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 December 2013
'All Good Things' is a based on a real life murder/missing persons case that took place in America from the eighties. Given the nature of the story, the film adaption offers plenty of drama.

Set in 1970s New York City, household name Ryan Gosling once again proves himself as one of the most talented actors of his generation. The character he plays his time is David Marks, the son of a powerful man who owns acres of real estate. David falls in love with a beautiful student called Katie (played by Kirsten Dunst), and unlike himself, she comes from a working class family. Despite their different backgrounds, the couple are soon married and move to the country to own a heath food shop called 'All Good Things' and start a new life together. We quickly learn more about David's fractured past and after being lured back to their old hometown by his father, we see David turn controlling and violent, especially when Katie suggests having children, and when she becomes increasingly more independent. As secrets of his family are revealed, Katie disappears without a trace. When his best friend is found dead, the 20 year old missing persons case is reopened, with David as the prime suspect. All of the evidence is laid in front of the viewer, who can make up their own mind as to whether David Marks is innocent or guilty.

All of these happenings are told by himself in a flashback, at the start of the film he is seen taking about his life through interview. Within the first few minutes we know that his father is alive, and his mother passed away when David was only seven. We see home video footage of him as a little boy, looking like every other happy child, and playing with his mother.

'All Good Things' is a film which showcases Ryan Gosling's wide acting range, I have always maintained that he excels at playing broken, complex and troubled characters, and he is once again outstanding. This dark tale is filled with suspense and should please viewers who enjoy a good docu-drama. Well worth a watch!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
This is a weird one. It starts off really well, then drags on a bit, and doesn't end. It's OK if you've got nothing else to do, but don't expect your regular crime story. It's more your sort of Wall Street-transvestite-crossword puzzle sort of thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Okay, let's forget the end which sort of fizzled out, on the whole the film was FANTASTIC. The acting, the suspense, the chemistry, a true psychological thriller!

The beginning (rich boy and average girl falling in love, getting married) was fast-paced and involving, and then, the strange things started to happen. I thought the building up of something unknown and malicious was very cleverly done, the wickedness of David Marks, brilliantly portrayed by Ryan Gosling, was palpable. Of course we never know did he, did he not, of course we are not sure if he is crazy or if the world is playing a joke on him, but one thing is clear - Ryan Gosling is one brilliant actor - the scenes where he plays a woman are a punch to your stomach!

And Kirsten Dunst, she plays her role so well, she effortlessly and so believably portrays a woman confused to comprehend who her husband truly is. And who is David Marks (a character based on a suspect in one of the most notorious missing person case of the New York history, still unsolved)?

Recommended, if you love psychological thrillers, eerie films based on real stories and/or Ryan Gosling.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Inspired by real events this is the story of David Marks a man who appears unable to relate to those around him - the type of character in fact that Ryan Gosling often plays. The story covers over thirty years of his life during which his behaviour gets stranger and stranger. The apparently happy relationship with his wife disintegrates, and his own family virtually disown him. Then his wife disappears, a man he is living with dies as does a female friend and in flash backs throughout the film a court considers his life and finally makes a decision
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
A very tragic story of obsession, dominance and violence in the guise of a Love story about a man who is heir to a property dynasty and about his struggles with his demons, life and normality, as the story progresses you see a dark side of him emerge during him falling in love with Katie. Based on true events tragically this mystery has never been solved. A very gripping watch and at times disturbing but all within context of the story. Excellent casting, acting and production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Great unsolved, not so mystery, murder flick portraying a families descent into madness and the ultimate crime of passion. Although well cast and portrayed, David Marks character was a little lacking in terms of the backdrop to his troubled state of mind and behaviour and the true nature of his childhood and i was hoping for a little more definition, however there was a sterling performance by Kirsten Dunst who portrayed the abused wife beautifully. Well worth watching!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
The disappearance of Kathie McCormack who has never been found.
This is a love story and murder mystery set in the 1980s. David played by Ryan Gosling comes from a wealthy family and not all the money comes from legal business. The head of the family is played by Frank Langella and he is excellent and sinister. Katie played by Kirsten Dunst is the girl David falls in love with and marries against dad's wishes. All seems fine between the couple but when Katie finds herself pregnant things turn nasty as we see another side of David, an ugly side. She has an abortion. Not long after this Katie disappears.
The film starts in 1971 and around 2001 the DA re-opens the missing case file. We know there's a court case which we don't see a lot of but we hear several voice overs recounting events that took place. The acting is spot on and all the characters are believable as the film plays out in a powerful drama that's very entertaining and comes in a good package of extras. My only complaint was that the ending did not satisfy me, but that's just me. Other than that it's a good 3 star film bumped up to 4 thanks to the generous extras.
Extras include 2 coms, interviews, deleted, all good things, researching the original story, unravelling the story, wrinkles in time and trailers. USA Release Region 1.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Great cast, but the film moves at a snail's pace. Unless you have a specific reason to watch this film, don't waste your time. It might well be based on a true story, but that doesn't necessarily translate into a good story. Disappointed. My first one-star review on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
After the railers I was not sure I want to see this. I have to say it was exciting and I was biting my nails at some points and the music was just amazing, rare to see a feature with the music so matching with the story! And I have to add the acting was great. I was never too into Kirsten(I apriciated her acting more when she was younger) but she was just amazing here. Maybe even the best Ive ever seen in her movies. So mature and meaningful, beautiful reactions. She surprised me a lot. Also the father...sorry I cant remember his name... I was really surprised how good he was!! And of course THE amazing Ryan. Watch out, he will be one of those BIG BIG BIG movie stars who not only really good at acting but taking on outstanding, surprising roles (remember Lars? WOW). I have a huge respect to him and played this guy so well!!
The story first was very good and exciting, then became a bit boring. This is a true story so I cant blame anyone for it... :) I do recommend this movie tho, worth to watch it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)