Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
14
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 February 2007
This cd is a pleasure to listen to,with lush production by Andrew Loog Oldham recorded in "67,beautiful tracks with slight baroque arrangents and with writers like Billy Nicholls and Twice as Much writing material for you,where could you go wrong??Well i'll tell you,its hard to believe that this album never got released and was shelved for years,this is the first time this album has been released the way it originally would have been,this is Del Shannon moving with the times,not as psych as his follow up recordings for the "68 Charles Westover Album,but this just reeks of swinging london and will appeal to purveyors of luscious 60s pop,and will appeal to the sike fans too,one complaint about this release,the booklet has been made like a dogs dinner,with the beginning of the liners mistakenly being started in the middle of the booklet,how could EMI make a mistake like that??Dont they have people who check for this thing employed there??Shabby treatment for a fabulous cd!!!!So i deduct one point for that!!But the music is faultless!!!Buy with confidence!!
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I normally love Dell Shannon but this cd was terrible not one nice song on it gave it to my husband as a gift and he hates it also.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
A FAN OF DEL SINCE '61 BUT I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS RECORDING.
SOME VERY DULL AND MONOTONOUS NUMBERS.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2016
what the hell was wrong with the zoots at liberty records were they honesty to stoned to know the difference between a gem and a pile
of rubbish the gem is these recordings leaving them on a shelf for about thirty five years shows they must have been brainwashed
or just plain thick this is one of the most fantastic albums i have ever purchased class oozies from all of its grooves the rubbish was the zoots at liberty records who must have had to much green matter thanks to the cherry red group for taking the time and the thought to release these recordings murray b new zealand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
Great lost album from the sixties - great for anyone who loves the Beach Boys and the west coast sound even though it was recorded by Andrew Loog Oldham in the UK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
This is a great album and is my favourite purchase of 2009. I wasn't expecting it to be particularly good but it is.. all a bit Zombies/Fabs circa 67'. The sessions utilised some of the best UK session men of the day including John Paul Jones on bass. Enjoy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
No one is better than Brian Wilson, but Del Shannon doing well, on this harmonized album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
Contains some great Del tracks and is a must for the afficionado as well as those with just a casual interest in this musical era.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
This cd gives you material most of you havn't heard. As I already have all of his other recordings. this was a nice surprise.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
This is a lovely album. It's great to hear some new songs from Del,but what a shame it wasn't released back in the 60's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse