Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 December 2012
I'm certainly no fan of folk music but Seth Lakeman is in any area of music an exceptional talent.Here though is something very different,a live EP recorded at the Plymouth Pavillions with the BBC Concert Orchestra. Five songs from Seth's other album releases, but without his reguilar group of musicians but the orchestra each song takes on new depths and such a high quality release.To put this under 'folk music' would limit a market for a release of clearly lasting pleasure.It first and foremost shows the incredible qualities he has as both a musician and a songwriter of the highest level.The orchestra add such a richness to each song,adds new depths and meaning alongside Seth's voice and violin.The only regret it's an EP and not a full length album,but this really is such an enjoyable listen it should if there's any justice give him and his music an even wider audience.One of the years very enjoyable sets beautifully sung and played.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
I was at this concert and Seth came across very well with the orchestrated arrangements of these songs. On the night they did 6 songs but for some reason the Bold Knight was not included in this recording, which is the reason why I have not given it the full 5 stars. Nevertheless, this is a very good, unique EP.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
This new CD from Seth Lakeman did not disappoint.
Brilliant to listen to and a good round up of all his music as it has a mix on it....Kitty Jay is my favourite.
Made me want to see him again this year at one of the venues in the UK.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This too short CD is basically an orchestrated version of Seth's greatest hits. This time, the rawness and energy of his regular live sets are transformed into slower and deeper treatments of the songs. King and Country is a walk now rather than a gallop and all the better for it. I am a fan of folk music and generally not a fan of orchestration, but this one works for me. I don't know whether it will work for people who are new to Seth Lakeman, they may be better off going to one of his earlier CDs. But, hey, I'm not going to stand in anyone's way. These are some beautiful songs and your ears deserve to have a treat every so often. Loses a * because it should have been twice the length.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Seth Lakeman's songs are given a sumptuous edge with the wonderful BBC Concert Orchestra. This doesn't detract from the original recordings but the whole thing comes over very well. He's a great performer, and rightly has a loyal following. We've seen him in concert twice and he gives more than 100%. With the orchestra things are taken to a different level, it's obviously not as homely as the folk concerts but Seth's voice and dramatic delivery are complemented by the super orchestrations. The only quibble is - why so few tracks?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Seth Lakeman is terrific, love the orchestral versions of these songs, particularly "King and Country". Would love to have been there on the night!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
I love everything Seth Lakeman does, some great live music, really enjoyable, just wish there were
more of his songs on there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Seth Lakeman has collaborated with numerous other artists over the years. As always, it adds a new dimension to his work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 December 2012
It's ten years since Seth Lakeman released his debut solo album, and now here he is, with the BBC Concert Orchestra, and arrangements by Anne Dudley. It's a long way from Buckland Monachorum.

This 5 track live EP features some of his best known songs, with 'Blacksmith's Prayer' from his current album "Tales From The Barrel House", 'Kitty Jay' the title track from his 2005 Mercury nominated album, 'Lady Of The Sea' and 'King & Country' from "Freedom Fields" and 'Changes' from "Hearts & Minds". So a nice spread of tunes. It's actually 'Blacksmith's Prayer' that works best, with the orchestra, arrangement and song all in sync.

Elsewhere, it's less commanding, especially with the likes of Sharon Shannon and The Unthanks having trodden the same path. But there's plenty of fine fiddling on 'Lady Of The Sea', and the arrangement on 'Changes' lifts what I'd thought of as a rather ordinary song into a much better place. As stopgaps go, this is a good one, and should keep fans happy until the next album wends its way along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Love, love, love it, the extra oomph the orchestra adds to already fabulous songs is fabulous. Playing this cd over and over again; I just wish it had many more tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)