Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
471
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2013
Having heard only a brief snatch of some of Susan Boyle's versions of stage songs I felt that I had to hear more. Having now purchased this CD and heard them all I know that I was right to buy it. If you want to hear some wonderful songs sung by a superb artiste you should buy it too. Happy listening
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I have all here CDs and I can not fault any one of them I hope to get a lot more in the future.Well done Susan.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Well Susan obviously just needed that break to be able to achieve what she now has. If you don't appreciate her the Japanese certainly do and know talent when it's staring them in the face. Long may she continue.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
What a great recording Susan Boyle has made. Simon Cowell knows what he is doing and has given us a star - a super star. Susan sings her heart out in 'Standing Ovation'- possibly her finest album yet. The songs are great of course but Susan can sing them so well. She is a knockout and the duets particularly are good. Donny Osmond and Michael Crawford bring out the best in Susan.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2012
It's a good job I didn't want this as a gift since the unpadded packaging left a lot to be desired and the case on this CD was damaged. However, with the exception of "Over the Rainbow" which I really didn't like, this is Susan Boyle's usual standard. Easy listening and the songs featuring Michael Crawford and Donny Odmond add that little extra sdomething in my opinion. Another good buy!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
This is Susan Boyle’s 4th album: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage. As the title implies, all the 11 songs are taken from stage shows. The songs are well chosen, and well known to all of us, and Susan Boyle put her own stamp and interpretation to them (like Somewhere Over The Rainbow). She is in top-form, and her voice is crisp and clear, smack in the middle. The orchestration is very smooth and refined. The bonus is of course having her childhood idol, Donny Osmond, to do two duets with her, plus the phantom himself Michael Crawford doing The Music of The Night. The audio is very well remastered. Although the sale and chart position are not at the same height as her first powerful output I Dreamed A Dream, this disc peaked at #12 on Billboard 200 and #7 on UK Album Chart. Of course, Susan being Scottish, it reached #1 on Scottish Album Chart.

The song listing (plus source of stage show) is as follows:
01 Somewhere Over The Rainbow (from Wizard of Oz)
02 The Winner Takes It All (from stage show ABBA)
03 Send In The Clowns (from Stephen Sondheim’s A Little Night Music)
04 The Music of the Night (featuring Michael Crawford)(from The Phantom Of The Opera)
05 Bring Him Home (from Les Miserables)
06 Memory (from the stage show Cats)
07 As Long As He Needs Me (from Oliver The Musical)
08 All I Ask Of You (featuring Donny Osmond)(from The Phantom Of The Opera)
09 Out Here On My Own (from Fame)
10 You’ll Never Walk Alone (from Carousel)
Encore:
11 This is the Moment (featuring Donny Osmond)(from musical Jekyll & Hyde)

As you can see, there is a great variety of music. Michael Crawford’s voice is still oh so smooth and he can still hit the high note. As to Donny Osmond, he has come a long way from his “Puppy Love” days. His voice has matured. Being in the musical Joseph & The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat in the past really helped with the maturation of his singing voice. But of course the star here is Susan Boyle. Her voice is still oh so pure and powerful. My personal favourite is “You’ll Never Walk Alone”…oh so powerful with so much feelings. The only minor negative aspect of this set is the lyric to each song: hand-written by Susan Boyle herself. Although it was legible, I still prefer the typed-written fonts variety.

The entire disc is totally enjoyable, and is highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
I have got all of Susan's CDs & this one is just as good as the rest, if you love her voice then you will love this one. So add it to your Christmas list you wont be disappointed :) LOVE YOU SUSAN XXXXX
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
Just received and played Susan's new CD. I have them all and this is just as good as the others. The duets are terrific. Have not picked out any favourites yet but as always I am looking for more when the CD finishes - too bad. (Just have to play it again!!) It would be good to have another CD - a Christmas album with the various choirs singing with Susan - very uplifting!!

Love that she achieved one of her dreams to sing with Donny Osmond.

I have a huge range of music that I love to listen to from 60's to modern: Adele/Emili Sande, country etc but it is equally as lovely to get a CD like Susan's as it is just a joy to listen to.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It can be said the life story of Susan Boyle is an inspiration to those who know her best, but by all accounts, Susan Boyle is not only a talented vocalist, but an inspiration to untold millions of people worldwide. It's as if her sudden rise to stardom after appearing on the television reality show Britain's Got Talent was meant to be, if not a dream come true.

Now with the prominence of a top ranked seasoned professional, best-selling albums, and top of the chart success covering five continents in over twenty countries, once again she is destined to sing her way into the hearts of millions. Some may find it ironic knowing it all began with the song I Dreamed a Dream.

Susan Boyle's three earlier albums I Dreamed A Dream, The Gift & Someone To Watch Over Me are all popular, easy listening vocal albums loved by an constantly increasing fan base that spans the globe.

Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage is the newest album by Susan Boyle, due to be released on November 13, 2012. Her newest release is a compilation of classic songs, and as the album subtitle suggests, are 11 favorite songs performed in the theater and some of the greatest movies ever produced.

One day prior to the release of her new album on November 13, 2012 Susan Boyle appeared on NBC's Today Show Concert Series, and performed the Abba cover song The Winner Takes It All. If you listened to her sing live for the first time it was a beautiful introduction.

For the millions of people who know her story and have listened to the soprano sing, simply discovering the remarkable talents of Susan Boyle has been the shared moment of victory uniting us all. Original publication from NewAgeMusicWorld.com.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This is a beautiful CD, showing the vast range that Susan has. To me, although I enjoyed her last CD, I am not into some of the music that she sang. But I do love musicals, especially fifties musicals (When You Walk Through a Storm etc)., Every single track shows off her vocal range, and the duets are delightful too, even with Donny, who I cannot say I would have considered a singer by any stretch of the imagination. But give him his due, he comes over very well here, and the two voices blend beautifully. These are the types of songs that suit Susan so well. I do hope her next CD follows something similar, perhaps another round of songs from the musicals. For me, this is her best CD by far.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.29

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)