Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars

on 24 November 2012
I liked very much this rarity, a portuguese baroque opera buffa, played by a portuguese cast and orchestra. Obviously, Os Músicos do Tejo, are not the Freiburger Barockorchester, but the level of performance is extraordinary for a not very known period orchestra with only, I think, two recordings. Although you will find some unconfortable moment, the singers are good, but I liked very much Ana Quintans, Joao Fernandes, Fernando Guimaraes and Ines Madeira, all of them are first level singers. Naxos does not include the libretto, but it provides a link so you have to use your computer to follow the story (bad idea...). The quality of Almeida's music is however a little bit irregular, as it occurs frequently in opera buffa, which tends to be light and uncomplicated. The best arias are the serious ones, although I must admit that there are some boring arias. Maybe after repeated listenings I can change my opinion. The music is composed in galant style, and there are a few memorable arias. My favourite is "Con innocente abbraccio" sang by Ines Madeira very delicately, and with an elegant da capo, and also "Quello sdegno ch'é figlio d'amore" sang impeccably by Ana Quintans. For this price don't hesitate and get this beautiful opera.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)