Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 20 July 2015
If you believe in magic or at least have an open mind, Devlin's story will appeal to your imagination as you accompany Cait O'Connell on her journey of acceptance of the powers with which she was born but which she had tried to deny because they frightened her. When her detective ex-husband seeks her help to discover who or what murdered an old friend and ex-colleague, Cait soon learns that she has to embrace and nurture her powers in order to crack the case. For those readers who enjoy vicarious sex, there is more than enough literary voyeurism!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2015
This was the first novel I had read by this author so didn't know what to expect. I liked the story - a good mix of detective and supernatural both of which I enjoy. The romance element was a necessary part of the plot and added nuance to the story, although I found the explicit sexual content a bit of a distraction from the main story. I wasn't convinced that this author was for me but read the second novel in the series to see how the main character Caitlyn developed. I was disappointed, as although there is some development of the main character I thought there was less story development and too many pages of explicit sex and found myself skipping the sex as I was keen to get back to the story. Overall this, and the follow up, are well written books with good storylines, but I am not convinced by the balance of content. I personally would prefer a more developed plot and characters, albeit with a touch of romance and sex, but not pages and pages of explicit sexual content, which for me is an entirely different genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2015
Good story line. A good thriller. Felt maybe we needed more on the victims: the three women abducted. On the other hand, the sex/ love scenes were unnecessarily lengthy and frequent: they got in the way of the storyline. Felt they were there as padding to make the book seem 'weighted' by adding pages. A bit of sex thrown in makes the characters more believable, but the story maybe needed to be worked a bit more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
This could have been a great book Cait is a fantastic character, and her husband Sam also has his strengths, then there's her partner Jason, mentor, Motrin and her voodoo worshipping mystic aunt Cecille. The only real issue is the non stop sex and quite graphic too, no I don't mind the sex scenes in books but they must be there to do more than fill pages and titilate. Shame as I / really did like the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2013
I like this subject matter, the magical element rather than the explicit sex scenes, although it won't be to everyone's liking.

Ms Devlin's writing style is largely easy going & doesn't require massive concentration.

She developed the plot imaginatively with some engaging albeit straightforward twists, punctuated by the the somewhat graphic, and equally somewhat unnecessary, erotica.

Good simple fantasy, in a number of ways, fun ideal for the holiday plane & deckchair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2013
Delilah Devlin should consider which genre she is writing in as she seems confused as to whether the story is soft porn or a detective story. The sex episodes between the heroine and her ex-husband detracted from the story and were far too long for a book that is not sold as erotic (which it wasn't - there is a difference between eroticism and soft porn) but as a detective story. Having read the first episode of sex I skipped the rest because it was the story that I wanted not the sex! It was so tedious. What a waste of my time and money as it made the storyline so much shorter. Maybe that was the idea - it was just a padding out exercise because she couldn't sustain the storyline.

Sorry not for me - I like my books to be clearly defines. I am not averse to soft porn - just think it should have its correct place.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2015
Very disappointing, was looking for a 'who done it' with a plot with a slightly offbeat twist. This book has very little plot,which is incidental to the endless sexual encounters of the flawed heroine and extremely unattractive sounding ex-husband. If I'd wanted this, would have bought the 'Shades of Grey' books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2013

I chose this book because I like the subjects. Spirit (being a name covering a huge amount) has been part of my life since a young age, and I have read a lot of books on different parts of the subject. I just love the way this book is written. Sex is intertwined with mystery, ghosties, ghouls and things that go bump in the night. All in all a good combination. Well written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2014
I love this genre but, I have to admit there are a lot of books which just turn out the same old stuff. This author uses lots of the standard genre building blocks but does a pretty good job of using them. Some interesting character tensions set up for future books. I have purchased book 2 so I have voted with my wallet - I want to know what happens next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 February 2014
Really enjoyed this storyline but as other reviewers mentioned there is an awful lot of sex! It's a good job the plot is intriguing as there is no mystery or suspense in the romance! Not that you don't want them to be together and the sex is hot, just in smaller amounts please!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse