Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
8
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
Not quite as good as Lanark, but some good stories. If you like the cover I recommend getting his autobiography in pictures too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Great Collection in excellent condition for a very reasonable price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Loved the book and am still reading it. One of those books that you read, put down, pick up and read. Excellent condition and as usual delivered before time stated.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Good to have them all in one volume but would have like a bit more new material - I know he seems to be concentrating more on the visual arts these days but in that case there could have been more additional original illustrations. I cannot complain though as there are treasures I have not read for many years and this new volume has encouraged me to revisit old tales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Looked at the two reviews...what nonsense to claim the book is too big. This is a superb collection, with magnificant illustrations. Anyone interested in Scottish Writing should get this book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
loved the kindle version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Alasdair Gray is perhaps the finest writer Scotland has produced. What a shame that this book is utterly unusable in almost every way. It's simply too big to carry around or even read. There are also some unfortunate typos - they happen with every book, but some of the titles are typos here and that lets down the fact this should be an unmissable book. Magnificent writer, but you can't help but feel this would be better served as a smaller edition, or perhaps a book split into several editions.
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I did find it a good read, but quite lengthy. Not easy to read quickly because of the unusual typography. The book got better in the 2nd half.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here