Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2015
If you like your sci-fi in the realms of insanity then this may ell be the film for you its one of those mind twisting films that pop up every now and again like videodome, naked lunch, and pan's labyrinth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
Loved the film, this is one of David Cronenberg's best films. Please do you know when it will be available on Blu- Ray it's been on region a for at least 16 years and we brits need a decent copy of it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
eXistenZ is an excellent film, it is nice to see Cronenberg do a good film after watching "Crash". I would say that it is quite a similar concept to "The Matrix" but it is handled in such a different way that the two cant really be compared, "The Matrix" having much more of a comic book sort of feel to it, and obviously more time being spent on the special effects. "eXistenZ" is more thought provoking however, as it leaves a lot open to the immagination at the end. I would hartily recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
I remember watching this, and was intrigued by the film, so I looked it up and then bought it. It's good to watch. And the subtitles mean I can watch it with my deaf friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
David Cronenburg does Philip K. Dick. Philip K. Dick specialised in writing about people who were questioning the nature of reality or identity. Here Cronenburg takes us on a ride with two characters - Jenifer Jason Leigh & Jude Law. It ostensibly starts out as a meeting wherein a Virtual Reality game called "eXistenZ" is demonstrated, with Leigh playing the designer and Law a meek technophobic marketing executive. They plug themselves into this "virtual" world and then within that world plug themselves into a secondary virtual environment. There are numerous recurring themes throughout the movie - the gun, the dog and not least the characters. The one question that is posed throughout is "What is reality?" Midway through the film, Law in the hotel room is questioning whether the place that he inhabits is indeed real or in fact a game environment. This movie was released well before the fad/fashion for online virtual avatar style environments or MMORPG (Massivly Multipyer On-Line Role Playing Games) such as EverQuest or Virtual Life. This film is a multi-layered questioning of the perception of reality. Christof in The Truman Show put this very succinctly: "We accept the reality of the situation with which we are presented, it's as simple as that." When we get to a technological situation where people are more concerned with what is happening in their "virtual" lives than with their real ones - don't worry, be afraid - be very afraid. This film is excellent at distorting the viewer's perceptions of reality - "it's just your in-game character, don't fight it" (when Law shoots someone or eats visually disgusting food). Sensible people know where the boundaries between the real and the virtual are but when these boundaries do not exist it is cause for alarm.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
In brief, great film, Matrix style questioning of reality, loads of gaming references and two very likeable leads.

A sci-fi must see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
what a great movie superb
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
i initialy bought this film us version, do to the fact, i have always disliked
the matrix overbearing special affects and tedious take on alternate reality. this film brings the bulk of the "how to be a god" ideas DOWN TO EARTH with an organic plot and an open to enterpretation ending. for those of us who's parents loved 2001: a space odessey(independent thinking) yet hated 2010: the year we make contact(asnwers!) so does this film serve the same purpose.

though i do enjoy a great presentation of theory/fact of ubermench, i prefer to recieve this kind of theme without the extravagant stunts, surreal portrail of the characters, and aritocratic detail to the story-line.

considering there was no need for the matrix to have two sequels which lacked the continued strength of the original. it is up to you to decide what you like,
the more humble existenz or the haughty matrix.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This darkly sexual sci-fi horror variant by Cronenberg makes The Matrix look like child's play. The Matrix is mainstream sci-fi, but eXistenZ, written by Cronenberg, is much stranger; it creates a world where organic and inorganic are not separate states, but kind of chummy. It's a disturbing, disorienting sensation -- puzzles within puzzles, games within games -- that continues right up to the last shot. Experienced gamers should find much to savor through the films unique assessments on the nature of reality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Similar ideas to Inception, though with a body horror element to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)