Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
20
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2016
Found the prose poor,the stories very disjointed and no feeling of getting to know any other characters,also the stories seemed to be long winded
and then in the end turning into things or happenings of poor interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Originally from Wallasey on the Wirral opposite Liverpool,I too went to sea at sixteen attending Plymouth School of Maritime studies and employed by Shell Tankers,this group of stories brought back so many memories most good but some bad,thanks Ian wish I had met you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
It was my type of book because I was a navigation apprentice and it bought back many memories of all the 60s and70s
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
I think my expectations were of a book that would be quite adventurous but I found it a bit boring and just a record of someones day to day experiences.

If you were a sailor then it might be of more interest, but i didnt finish it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
This took me back to my own days at sea. I could empathise so much with Ian Whyte. His story telling skills kept me engaged throughout. Wish it was longer
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Good for those who have been to sea
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Whilst a couple of interesting stories of the sea, I had hoped this book might have covered more of his early experiences and later life. Instead it just seemed to suddenly stop !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2016
I'm surprised that coal burning tankers were still around at the time of the "Stranding" chapter. When I went to sea in1946, even Reardon Smith tramp ships were oil fire
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
This book is a very quick read, full of a number of interesting and amusing stories about the authors life at sea. It's well written and well worth picking up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
relates to my own experience as a junior engineer. big learning curve!!
good reading for anyone interested in the sea and ships
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)