Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
49
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2015
Recently got this printer to replace my old broken colour printer, and find it great value for money. The printed pages are excellent quality, like pages from a glossy colour magazine, it's quick and quiet in operation, and a nice compact size for a colour laser printer. The quality seems robust and it's fairly heavy, not flimsy as so many pieces of equipment are these days, and it looks attractive with its black casing.

It has inputs for both USB and Ethernet, and we have it set up using the Ethernet connection, so all of our home computers, both PCs and Macs, can use it across our local network without it having to be attached to, and shared out from, one particular computer. It comes with drivers and software for PCs and Macs, and the network connection was easy to set up for both, with the software easily detecting the printer on the network. I'm using it with Windows Vista, Windows 8.1, and OS X Snow Leopard, all with no problems. It also has the ability to print from the Internet using HP ePrint, although we don't use this facility. But it's there if you have need for it.

All in all, a good budget printer with the usual nice HP quality.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For the price I got a lot more than I expected. The printer is very easy to set up and is sent well protected but not over -packaged, you can see what the box contains, it isn't a box within a box. There are 3 coloured and 1 black toner supplied with the printer,which are easily installed.I bought spare toner cartridges because I thought for the price there would only be trial size toners supplied but they must be full ones because I am still using the original ones and have done loads and loads of printing and they are still going strong.

I bought this product because I had tried Kodak (I actually threw this one through the window) Cannon and Epson printers and was sick and tired of paying out for expensive ink jet cartridges that only last a couple of weeks and don't print 'true' colours and then everything goes red or green when the colours are running out and to top it all you can't continue printing until you replace the empty cartridge and always paper jamming. (Nightmare!!)

This printer can be used either by Ethernet or wireless and can be networked ( instructions are online for this). It has a large manual provided but I found it easier to go online to get information although it was so easy to set up using the disc. There is a good capacity paper tray at the bottom of the printer which holds around 100 sheets probably a bit more ( I haven't counted them I just split up a ream of paper). and it is easy to remove paper jams. This printer has been worth every penny and didn't cost much more than the useless inkjet printers that I had been wasting money on.. I love it. The quality of the printing is excellent and the colours are very true to the ones on the screen. The replacement toners seem expensive but when compared to inkjets they are much less expensive because of the amount and quality of printing you get out of one toner.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
The Printer is great for home use but the cartridges are very expensive and the cheaper brands often are not as good as they say they are and they can affect the print system itself so buy them at your own risk. Shame there is no refill service at a much reduced cost. Luckily I managed to get some at half price at a recent sale at PC World.
The one thing that I do not like is that after a few of weeks of minor use after installing a new cartridge it starts showing the messages your toner is fast reducing to less than x pages etc. All 4 of my cartridges have been saying this for about 4 months now and yet they still print .. however after a while one has to keep pressing OK to the numerous responses "that the toners are nearly empty" from the display to get the thing to actually print. The other thing I do not like is that even though the memory size sound great the transfer rate is sometime very slow and the only way to get it to print is to turn it off and start it up again as one can wait ages for it to do anything. Be interesting to hear if any other owners have the same problems we have.
It is still a good printer and cheap enough to throw away and buy a new one when things go terribly wrong - that's assuming the cartridges are still available as they can become hard to find when printers are superseded and HP do this a lot.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
this is a very nice printer as standard for HP, also quite fast for being a color laserjet. Only a little side note, the front/back printing function is actually a scam, in fact if you select it the printer tells you to print the front, then take the paper insert it again and press ok to print the back. So make it just a little easier so you avoid to set the printing page etc but not really a front/back printing as anyone would suppose.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
Good compact design, very easy to install and very good results on printing.. good value for money and
a well established name behind it with back up, help line etc.
I would recommend for small business or even home use, not too expensive against lesser quality domestic
orientated machines.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
I had to return this printer(thanks Amazon for a quick refund). Thats a real shame as Ive always used HP Lasers but this model wasnt good. Biggest problem was the colour alignment was off. The result being everything looked fuzzy. The Demo Page first showed it. Everything had a yellow or green border around it, perhaps only less than 0.5mm but your eye spotted it immediately. A quick Google showed this was a common fault with this printer. There were no software or firmware solutions I could find, I guess people just live with a laser printer with crap quality. Photgraphs were especially bad and looked like you'd sneezed on the page, colours were a mess, did anyone do any quality control? Basically a design flaw or cheap components. Sorry HP but after years of being loyal to you I now have to try the competition. Probably Canon or Samsung.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I used to have an HP mono laser printer, but traded it in for an inkjet a couple of years ago, so that I could print in colour. What a mistake that was! Having found the price of ink cartridges ruinously high (and, more to the point, the cartridges often lasted for only 30 or 40 pages of printing), I decided to re-enter the world of the laser printer. HP have only done well for me in terms of desktops, laptops and printers, so I chose the HP M251n as a relatively inexpensive colour laser.

The first thing to say is that strictly speaking this is NOT a wireless printer; if you want one of these that is fully wireless enabled, then you need to buy the more expensive HP M251nw. This is a printer with a USB connection and an Ethernet connection; you can thus connect it to your laptop or desktop via a USB printer cable (not included), or via an Ethernet cable into your router. This latter option effectively turns the printer into a wireless printer, as you can then print from any device on your home network. For this, you'll need to site the printer quite close to your router so that you can run a cable between the two; because of this, we've gone for the USB option, whereby we've put the printer on a desk, and have a USB printer cable to connect to whichever laptop we put next to it.

Setup is easy; the drivers self-installed (this took three or four minutes), and then it's a case of putting paper into the tray, and printing. The paper-tray is perhaps a bit smaller than I anticipated; it takes about 40 sheets of paper, which is a pain when you're printing in volume. Printing is easy; on turning on and sending the first print, the printer comes up with the message 'calibrating' on the digital display; this takes about 30 seconds, and then you're away. Once this first page is out of the way, there's approximately three or fours seconds between prints.

The digital display also shows the level of the four toner cartridges that are in the printer - there is one black cartridge, and then three colour ones. The printer itself comes with 'starter print cartridges', which with HP are normally full-size toner cartridges that contain perhaps half the toner one would get in a cartridge that has been purchased separately. So far in a fortnight's use we've printed perhaps 400 sheets of A4, mostly black and white, and the digital display (which is in the form of a solid bar for each cartridge, like on a bar chart) is showing perhaps one-tenth used on the black cartridge, with the others still showing as maximum. On this basis, it looks as if the toner cartridge life-span is going to be very good indeed.

So far, we've been really very impressed with the printer. If you want to print colour photos then this perhaps this isn't the thing, but for volume printing of any other kind, the printer is excellent. It's worth bearing in mind that a set of official branded HP cartridges for the printer is VERY expensive (more than the printer itself costs); however given how good the lifetime looks like being for these, and the fact that decent non-HP compatible toner cartridges are available for much less than the cost of official HP cartridges, value for money is looking good.

The only thing that lets the printer down slightly as far as we're concerned is the size of the paper tray; we're used to laser printers taking more than the 40 or so sheets that this one can handle. We're still very happy, however, and would recommend this printer highly.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Super fast delivery and a top quality product. The print quality from this printer is superb and the saving on buying ink cartridges on the Epson ink jet printers i have is a no brainer.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Good quality printing as expected as I had considered a number before choosing this one. Really easy to set up straight from the box.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
My ageing Samsung (b/w) laser was past its best and this replacement has been a revelation, ease of setup on my home office network, quick to print, vibrant colours and so far, jam free even using supermarket 'multi-purpose' paper..... The toner replacements are not cheap however (around £250 for HP ones and £150 for OEM ones) so factor this in if you're planning to use this as a work horse machine.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 35 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here