Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2014
Where to start?

The illustrations bear no relationship to any magical system, and the artwork varies from acceptable (The High Priestess, the Pages, the Queens, the Knight of Swords, and the Hanged Man) to simply awful. Justice looks like a teenage bimbo, the Kings seem to have wandered in from a Dungeons and Dragons role play game, Strength obviously has ambitions to be a female Conan the Barbarian, and the Lovers are planning to film a soft porn video. Many of the women have silicone enhanced breasts, and the Empress also has rubber legs. Strangely, the faces aren't bad, but they seem to have been stuck on bodies drawn by a different artist.

There are hundreds of Tarot sets available and many are drawn by amateurs with varying degrees of skill. That's acceptable as long as there is a symbolic pattern to the cards. Here there is nothing but a mixed bag of nods to a variety of directions, with no apparent understanding of even the simplest Tarot symbolism or colouring.

The Devil looks like a still from a Hammer horror film, with the single male figure securely chained. The whole point of the traditional symbolism of this card is that the chains should be loose, implying that they can be cast off. The Magician (who appears to be in pain) has no recognisable symbols at all, the Hermit looks a bit like a tramp and the Moon simply looks cross.

Unsurprisingly the accompanying booklet is the worst kind of Tarot by Numbers. A couple of sentences for the Major Arcana (upright and reversed) and not much more for the Minor (no reversals though!).

This set is useless for anyone who wants to study or meditate on the Tarot, or use it in any meaningful way. Why did I buy it? It was 50p at a boot sale. And even at that price, I don't reckon I got a bargain.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
I like this deck, with very classical images,,, all the number cards are pictures of what they say, like 5 swords etc... I think it would be a good deck for teaching, and for beginners as well, as I find the enrgy of the deck very soft and easy to work with,,, for the price it is a brilliant deck, It comes with a book ( more like a booklet ) in full colour with pictures and descriptions of each card, and also one or two spreads,,,
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Great fun with large tarot cards, easy to understand picture book, love it, definetly worth buying for the low price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
This particular deck is published by Top That Publishing and it seems to have been published under several different names. It is created by Bridget Reed and Colin Howard, and its first edition was called 'Cachet Tarot' which came out in 2003. Then it appears to have come out again 2012 in a box just labelled 'Tarot Cards'. This edition from 2013 is boxed as 'Tarot: Delve Into the World of Tarot Reading.' I paid £5.99 for it.

This edition comes in a box that opens right to left, like a book. Inside there is a compartment for the cards which has a clear plastic insert that fits over it to hold the cards in place. Under the inset, there is a 64 page book. The book would be of little use to newbies (and virtually of no use to 'adepts'), though at least I can say that it gives rudimentary versions of widely accepted contemporary meanings, with a few curious exceptions. She says the Knight of Wands 'signifies a departure from challenge. He is unsure of commitment and cannot confront his own feelings.' Really?? I suppose that is a super-polite way of saying he's the type of guy who might try to get in your pants one day and be long gone the next, which is actually very true of him. Ha ha. The single page on 'Tarot Origins' claims that the 22 majors came first, followed 'much later' by the 56 minors, so... so much for tarot scholarship here. (The author also says 'symbolisation' for 'symbolism' in one card entry, which just sounds SO awkward and wrong to me!) I do like the way she lays out the Celtic Cross, which I never thought of before. Instead of putting that line of cards upward to the right of the cross, she puts them in a row underneath, and lays them out right to left, which is a very old-fashioned way of doing it. I like the way it looks and will start doing that myself, on the rare occasion I use the Celtic Cross.

The cards are big, 6.75 x 4.25 inches (16 x 11 cm), but a bit on the thin side, so the stacked deck is roughly 1 inch high (about 3 cm). In thickness, for comparison, I would put it at slightly thicker than the Druidcraft, which is the thinnest card stock of any deck I own. It has a similar soft, slightly floppy quality. The cards have a matte finish. The paper is quite malleable so the deck would be prone to easy nicking and indentations. You can see from the illustration above that the cards have a wide, ornate border and the colours are quite saturated. The pip cards are semi-illustrated: the set number of wands, cups, coins or swords are superimposed on a set background which is exactly the same for each card in the suit. I don't mind this at all. One curious aspect is that the coins suit is called 'pentacles' and yet the cards contain griffin-headed coins --no pentacles in sight. Ha! It's not a high quality deck, it's just a cheapy.

I wish there was a rating here between 'I don't like it' (two stars) and 'It's okay' (three stars). I do rather like it (in the way that you can like movies like 'Plan Nine from Outer Space'), but I wouldn't say it's 'okay'. It's not much use for a newbie and many experienced readers would turn their nose up at it. So 2.5 would be the best choice.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
good big cards book easy read nice pictures on the cards cant wait till use them good buy for the money
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
Lovely cards, although not the easiest to shuffle. Book gives good description of the cards and also a couple of layouts for a tarot reading.

Arrived quickly and in perfect condition. Thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Bought these for my sister and she absolutely loves them, so A GREAT gift, came really quick... great product thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I bought this as a present to a friend that wanted a no nonsense, basic deck to learn with large cards (she doesn't like them small). The cards are huge, but she wears glasses and this way it's easy to recognise them, even without the glasses. The little white book is in full colour and has some detailed meanings (not much) for each card. She already has a Tarot book, so she won't use this booklet.
Overall, it's a good deck for beginners and it can be used by anybody.
I'm only rating this comparing with other beginners decks, because we all know there are much more beautiful decks around.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
The illustrations on the major arcana of these cards are absolutely beautiful. Some have Egyptian figures on which are also appealing. The minor arcana illustrations are reasonably basic. Nice bright colours; however on the down side, they are far too large to shuffle easily. The book that comes with them includes just the right amount of info to learn with, ie not too much or too little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
hi i am
iv been a reader for many yrs don`t really use cards that much as i am clairvoyant ,
but people like to see cards when you read for them so i try to chose the most uplifting cards i can ,
i have quite a few packs but not a jumbo pack ,
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)