Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 September 2012
I managed to score a few of these originals "back in the day", and they remain some of my most treasured dub-plates. Carlton Jackson's History, Junior Delgado's Sons of Slaves (seek out Sons of Dub!), Raphael Green's Rasta Train and Junior Mervin's (sic) Roots Train No 1 are all blindingly good, and it's nice to find the full length mixes on a CD at last. But throw in George Faith's haunting To Be A Lover, The Heptones' Party Time and Lee Perry's insane disco workout on Max Romeo's Chase The Devil - Disco Devil - and a bunch of other gems and what you've got here is an essential slice of reggae history. This is, as they say, all thriller and no filler. If you're even remotely into Lee Perry's sound, this is unmissable. It's a genius at the height of his powers. Made my week!
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2014
The material on here is of course some of the greatest reggae ever made. I bought many of the originals and still have them and was wondering whether to swap them for this release and cash in on the high prices they now fetch.

The quality of the transfers on this CD is variable. Sons of Slaves and History are just like the vinyl originals. Disco Devil is a different version from the 12 inch single on Black Art which has been sped up significantly spoiling the vocals and swing of the rhythm, and the sound is a bit muddy. Free the Prisoners is a bit bright and flat - the various levels of sounds and instruments seem to have a physical depth on vinyl that has not survived. Listening all the way through these cds I'd say this release is unpredictable - just like the old days. But I shan't be selling the originals after all!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2015
great selection of some of lee perry,s toughest tunes from the black ark .i already had most of the tracks on the vinyl boxset , from the ark , but i could,nt resist getting them again on this cd .anyone curious about the amazing sound that perry got from his very basic equipment should listen to this as it contains some real classics and showcases perrys production perfectly .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2014
OK, many of the tracks here have appeared on other Perry compilations that have appeared over the years, and most were familiar to me. It's still great to have these classic tracks and mixes all together in one nicely-designed double-cd set. I had never heard the extended version of 'Norman', or Perry covering 'Chase The Devil' (the title track), so this was an added bonus. If you don't have many of these and are a Perry fan, it's essential.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2013
If you like Lee Perry buy this CD, you will not be disappointed.
There are a couple of lesser tracks and some of the audio quality is a bit ropey, but overall it is very good.
You cannot buy any of these tracks on vinyl for under £100, so this CD is a must for anyone interested in Roots Reggae from The Black Ark Studio courtesy of Mad Bad Lee Perry!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2012
total classic. dubby dancey extra long versions. echoplex on overdrive. great sound really crunchy proper good stuff. lee perry the original and best.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I'm very satisfied with the cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2014
Great product and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2015
I love this,dub masterworks from the main man.Test yer bass mon !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)