Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
Before I Forget
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 October 2017
This CD was originally released in 1982 and this version was remastered in 2017 with 5 extra tracks. "Before I Forget" shows the versatility of Jon Lord in his solo work. It's not the same tone as the Deep Purple. It's quieter and taken up from classic tracks. It is valid for those who like a good keyboard with the tone of rock and diversities aside. Good! Note 7.0.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
All right and fast Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
Jon Lord in eclectic but unclassical mode. A nice, moody collection of instrumentals and songs from the time when Jon was still with Whitesnake, some of these songs wouldn't have been out of place on a Whitesnake album. Say It's All Right, Where Are You?, Burntwood and Before I Forget are particularly fine. Lot's of help from his Whitesnake colleagues and vocals courtesy of Elmer Gantry, Tony Ashton (we miss you Tone); Jon's always liked gravelly vocalists. Probably not his best solo album, but it's still the one I listen to most often.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2000
In my view Lord has always been the most interesting member of Deep Purple, and his solo projects prove this. His latest release "Pictured Within" is also brilliant, so I'm actually a little apprehensive as to decide which is now my favourite album of his. "Before I Forget" always used to be my fave, but I think I'd just be sounding too nostalgic if I'd still say that. In all fairness, "P.W." probably is his best and most perfect work so far, but the CD I'm reviewing here, "B.I.F.", does contain a track I wouldn't hesitate a second to describe as the most beautiful melody he's ever composed: "For A Friend". -This lovely tune was for some reason left off the original LP, no doubt for lack of space, otherwise I just can't apprehend why. (-It certainly would've deserved to be on there instead of a pretty trashy song like "Hollywood Rock 'N' Roll", or even a lesser quality in sound would've been preferable to me.) There's also a nice long interview with Lord on this CD, done at the time of the vinyl version back in '82 when he was still with Whitesnake. Highly recommended release; now more than ever.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2002
Though this album is definitely not the best amongst Lord's solo LPs (meaning without Deep Purple) and it lacks real coherence in selection, it still contains certain tracks that would be a shame to miss. The disk features everything from the kitsch-ballad style of Richard Clayderman through a nice remake of Bach's famous Toccata and Fugue to certain really fantastic and original works. For Lord fans it is a must to have this record in their collection, and also a challenging adventure to take, but for those who are just about to taste his art this album should be a taboo. Try Sarabande instead!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2000
Beginning his thirty-five year career as a professional musician in the mid-1960s, the (now) 59 year-old Lord found fame as the keyboard player and Hammond organist with the Kings of 1970s heavy rock, Deep Purple. The band continues in some form today (with Lord still filling the keyboarding role), but its zenith was really in the 1970-1975 period, with enduring tracks like Smoke on the Water, Child in Time, Highway Star and various others.
One always had a nagging sense that the collective musical talent in the group was perhaps far greater than the band's output suggested, a theory reinforced by the superior legacy of rivals Led Zeppelin and by the subsequent solo/band efforts of members like Lord, David Coverdale and Ritchie Blackmore, Purple's lead guitarist and founder of Rainbow.
Lord's trademark Jimmy-Smith/rock/blues/soul hybrid organ style and influence on rock keyboard playing have been huge and whilst lacking the 'look at me' technical virtuousity of contemporaries Keith Emerson and Rick Wakeman, became the archetypical Hammond sound in rock, adding significant texture, lustre and depth to Purple's heavy rock chording and giving the band one of the definitive sounds of 1970s rock.
Lord's mid-and-post Purple career has taken the form of a long stint in Whitesnake and successive solo efforts, like Before I Forget, Sarabande, Windows, his theme to Granada TV's Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady and most recently, Pictured Within (Virgin Classics, 1997).
His solo work takes an entirely different journey to his mainstream career, hinting strongly at the classical roots in his student-classical background and encompassing a particularly English-country melodic sense. Gone from this solo work are Purple's power-chording, with a focus instead of piano-based melody, a sense of melancholy and Lord's own lyrics, sung by vocalists, as opposed to screamers. Think of Elgar, meeting a more original Richard Clayderman and you get some sense of Lord's sensibilities on Before I Forget. Tracks like Before I Forget, Burntwood and Where are You? reinforce this texture, whilst Lord takes an altogether jauntier, classical-rock route on pieces like Take a Chance on a Feeling and the rocky Bach Onto This. The latter gives Lord the chance to unleash the famous Hammond B-3 sound, cutting across the melody with his trademark, highly soulful, whirling organ work.
Altogether the album encompasses his diverse skills rather well, with surprising strong piano melodies, simple and sure arrangements and strong accompaniment from vocalist Sam Brown and drummer, Ian Paice. The album simplifies his classical thoughts from previous work like Sarabande (1974, now rereleased and perhaps a more confident and eclectic work) and creates some neat work. Well worth adding to the collection for Purple fans and anyone with a melodic piano-oriented ear.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
A quite wonderful album. Nothing falls flat and some songs are magnificent. Bach onto this - this is why Simon Philips has few equals. Lady, just listen to Vicky Brown's purity. I won't mention Bernie Marsden, Ian Paice, Neil Murray, Sam Brown, Cozy Powell, various members of Bad Company etc. And of course Jon Lord. I have the original vinyl as well.
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
This was a side project by Jon Lord that now comes with some well written liner notes (bit more detail on the sessions would have been good) and extra tracks. Nothing like his more recent classical CDs, except for songs like Bach Onto This. Good, not great album, worth getting if you are a Deep Purple completist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Unforgettable Jon Lord, creative and spanning his abilities, a treat for all fans of this creative genius. The guests are well chosen; Cozy Powell really hammers those drums and Sam Brown's smoky voioce transports you to different worlds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
First bought this on vinyl in the early eighties and haven't been able to find it since (thanks Amazon). As good as I remember and proof, if any were needed, what an excellent songwriter and keyboard player Jon Lord was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here