Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
335
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

After the recent death of my launch Playstation 3 from 2007, I was in the market for a new console. This coincided with prefect timing from Sony, with the launch of their 2012 slim model. Having owned both a launch and slim Playstation 3 from 2009, I felt it was fair to share my views on Sony's latest offering. As with all Sony consoles, the packaging was attractive and neat! Included in the box is: a 500GB PS3 slim console, wireless Dualshock control pad, power cable, av cable, usb charging cable and instructions.

----------------------------
FIRST IMPRESSIONS
----------------------------
-The first thing you notice about the console is the size and weight reduction. Admittedly, I did not see much of a difference between the launch console and slim model from 2009. However, this machine is (almost!) the PS3 slim I had been waiting for.

-The machine is a combination of both a charcoal matt and glossy black finish. This actually looks a lot nicer in person than in pictures.

-There are two usb ports on the front, as with the previous slim model. The rear has all the usual ports form previous models; ethernet port, HDMI, optical cable, AV multi-out and of course the power adapter input.

-Discs are now inserted by the sliding across of a disc tray, located the top of the PS3.

-The included Dualshock controller is essentially the same as previous generations, and as comfortable and trustworthy as ever!

------------------------
POSITIVE POINTS
------------------------
-My launch PS3 had a 60GB hard drive, and my 2009 slim a 120GB. This is my first console with such vast disc space (500GB). It is a very welcome addition, considering that many games can now be downloaded from the PSN store (this is particularly useful if you have a Playstation Plus account).

-While playing games, I have noted that disc spinning noise is reduced when compared to previous models. This is apparently due to better ventilation (as claimed by Sony). Without discs, noise levels are virtually zero.

-The slim form factor allows for easy portability of the console, as well as discrete positioning.

-------------------------
NEGATIVE POINTS
-------------------------
-Although the console is nice enough to look at, I do feel some compromises have been made in the design. Overall, the previous machines were definitely more classy, with their slot loading mechanisms. Build quality seems a bit hollow, despite pleasing aesthetics.

-Again, no PS2 backward compatibility. Also gone is the SD card reader that was found only in launch models.

-------------------
CONCLUSION
-------------------
The price of this new model is a little steep, considering that the PS3 is now over half a decade old (and with rumours of a PS4 around the corner). But overall, I am pleased with the new Playstation slim. It does have some flaws in build quality, but these can be easily overlooked due to the slim form factor and new design. There are some places I feel Sony could have improved on to make the 'ultimate' Playstation console. However, if you are in the market for a new PS3, you can't go far wrong with this. 4/5
2020 comments| 218 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 October 2012
First thing to note is that this console was a surprise for most people, i can remember seeing it on the internet at first and saying "oh is that the new PS4" ... sadly not!

This is the PS3 but in super slim form so it went down to weight watchers and came out a leaner fitter machine. It does nothing more or less than the standard "slim" model and comes with the same accessories and controller. The main difference is the size which really makes it the smallest HD gaming console on the market and the top loading blu-ray drive which i will talk about later. The main difference in terms of "whats under the hood" is the hard drive which is now 500GB (in my view this is overkill yet it would allow you to boast about the size of your hard drive). All the ports on the back are identical as are the two USB ports on the front!

As usual the fit and finish on this console is second to none and it's finished in a stylish gloss finish. The top is a rigid finish which allows the top loading drive cover to slide the full length of the console. On the mater of the top loading drive, it works well and the sliding cover is easy to operate... but this does create a problem or two. First as the drive is now on the top and all there is to cover it is the thin sliding cover the drive is more audible than before although it's nothing that's going to distract you from gaming or watching a movie, the bigger problem is because the drive is top loading you can't exactly put the console under your TV and leave it there as how can you change disks?? There just wasn't enough room to get to the disk drive so ensure you have a deep shelf to place it on.

Other things to note:

In terms of software this console is exactly the same as any other PS3. In my experience after testing the wireless out and comparing it to the previous slim this one has a better range. The controller is the same great controller as you got before which features a built in battery and operates off blu-tooth which means it's very efficient and uses little power while gaming.

PROS: Well made, this is the size the PS3 should have been from day 1, 500GB of storage so enough to last a lifetime, excellent connectivity in terms of wireless and blu-tooth, controller is brilliant, online is free to use, can stand vertically!

CONS: top loading drive cover feels cheap, thin and is not noise insulated.., because it's top loading you need extra space to gain access to the drive (so those narrow shelves under you tv are out), 500gb is overkill for most people yet it's the only option that makes sense as the 12GB model will get filled very quickly if you play a lot of games, expensive!

VERDICT: To be honest i fail to see why they brought the super slim console out, it does nothing new except it has a bigger hard drive and is smaller. Yet because of the top loading drive you can only place it in certain places. Don't get me wrong i like the idea and the console looks good and works well but be in no doubt the reason they did it was to save money compared to slot loading drive they had before. Yet at the same time the console is expensive...

My recommendation is to stick with the current "slim" model if thats what you have as it's NOT WORTH upgrading unless you specifically want to pay extra for this new one! If you're new to the gaming world then sure this would make a great console, just be aware of the top loading drive and where you're going to put it!
88 comments| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 May 2014
I would like to say it a good piece of equipment to have as entertainment but for under 4 months old it has gone wrong,i am in the process of trying to get it replaced to see if the next one works any better,i would like to say that so far the seller has been helpful but it remains to say that i am still in the process of trying to get it sorted,for a Sony item i am very disappointed not the standard that i have come to expect from a top company.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
I got this to replace my old FAT PS3 that died the other week from the dreaded Yellow light of death.. It had been used to death in the 5/6 years I had it so it did very well.. I was going to hold out for the PS4 as its not long off now.. However I have a good amount of PS3 games I simply wont be able to play on the PS4.. Classic Black opps with zombies and the like.. (I could never be without that game in my collection)

So ok.. Is this any better the the original FAT PS3? No clearly not.. Its got a bigger hard drive and a better fan system so im told.. But the main hardware is as the original.. however its not anywhere as cheap and lightly made as people have been moaning about.. The disk tray does make a little more noise when loading then the old one as its at the top now.. But the system itself is a lot quieter then the old one when running games off the hard drive or non disk tasks .. I have a plus account again now and I play most things on the HDD and it makes hardly any noise at all, even after hours of use its still the same.. So yes I love this one as much as the old one.. Just miss the over the top DVD drive tray lol
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
This model is quieter, faster and runs cooler than the other ps3 models. Comparatively cheaper nowadays too. All the best games are really cheap too, thanks to the "essentials" collection. If current gen is too much for your wallet, grab a ps3 instead. There's still plenty of fun to be had with it, for a fraction of the cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
its a great console, haven't seen any games that aren't on PS3 that are on the new consoles. Why pay loads for that? I got this one a year ago for cheap after my 360 died, then got all the PS3 exclusives for cheap pre owned, played and sold them on for a similar price that I bought them for. Also new games including advanced warfare still play great, just have worse graphics. Still good for another year I think until some new gen exclusives come out that are worth getting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I bought this Playstation Slim for my 21st birthday and I'm not disappointed. For a playstation it is very small and looks nice.
The delivery was fast so I was able to start playing very quickly.

Thank you very much!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 May 2016
It's been more than 3 years since I purchased this and it is still going strong, in great condition! I'm very pleased with it!! My previous sony system would heat up way too much and was just a real pain in the backside, but this ps3 super slim console is great. The 500gb of hard drive data storage comes in handy for downloading games from the playstation store and uploading / downloading videos, music and photos. I love that I can watch my favourite shows online by connecting to the internet. I have completely abandoned my Sky hd box and adopted the ps3 for watching things. I do not regret it at all. Goodbye TV licensing, hello Netflix!

Anyway, I hope you found this helpful. I was just scrolling through my buys and noticed that I bought this in Feb 2013 and just had to comment on it! My husband was quite surprised when I told him lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
This is one of two UK models of Sony's third major version of its PS3 console. The main differences between the two models are the size of storage included (the majority of this review discusses that difference) and the price - this model's a lot cheaper, the cheapest PS3 yet.

What the two models have in common is that they are both significantly smaller and lighter than Sony's previous PS3 versions. They also have a top loading disc drive rather than a slot loading one (a button releases a catch so the cover of the drive slides aside, then you push it back in place after inserting the disc). Aside from that there are few major differences from the last generation - same number of USB ports (2), same outputs, no SACD or PS2 disc compatibility, etc . The reduction in size and weight is very welcome and although some may feel slot loading is cooler and marginally more convenient, it's not a big deal, and you can understand that by doing this they have been able to make the unit cheaper.

To deal with the differences, this model has a stated storage size of 12Gb, made up of flash memory. The other model has a stated storage size of 500Gb, this being hard drive storage. When I got my 12Gb PS3 I immediately downloaded the latest version of the system software, and after that I checked the storage size available according to the system. It said I had 9108MB left. (Why not 12Gb? Well the system software takes up some space)

So is it worth going for this model at a cheaper price? That will depend on how you want to use the PS3, and you should give it some careful thought before buying.

If you want to use your PS3 to store more than a very small amount of audio or video, this is definitely not a good choice for you. The storage space is too small for that. For watching blu ray discs though, it's fine, even good (in fact, even though it's more expensive than entry level blu ray players, it must be worth £100 or so alone as a player considering that it has a built-in wireless receiver, no dongle required, and that Sony is so quick with updates so all the latest discs play just right). You can also easily connect an external hard drive or usb stick to play music or videos (or to take backups - more on that later).

Games is where it gets tricky. Considering disc-based games first, most PS3 games have only small compulsory install or patch sizes (some have none at all) and fairly small save sizes. These don't present a problem. However a significant minority of games do have fairly large mandatory installs and some of these can be very large. It appears the game 'Rage' has the largest compulsory install for a disc-based game yet released, at 8Gb. So in short yes you can play any currently released disc-based game on this model, and now this model is released, especially as it's fairly late in the PS3's life cycle, it seems unlikely that Sony would allow a disc-based game to require an install greater than this 12Gb model could handle. (in fact you might wonder if this 12Gb size has been chosen to be as small as possible but so 'any game' plays...). Even so you can see how if you had Rage installed there wouldn't be room for much else. That's an extreme case but it's not uncommon for games to have install sizes of a few Gb. If you're the kind of person who wants to keep many games on the go, or who just wants to forget about install issues, then this isn't for you. If you are content to have a couple games on the go (plus an indefinite number of those with very small install and save sizes, of which there are many) then this is a good choice.

Some games can't be purchased on disc and must be purchased on the Playstation Network (PSN), these tend to be smaller games or revamped classics. They tend to have smaller sizes so with some careful memory management the issue is really the same as the one above for disc game installs (install sizes are fairly typical of the sizes of games that aren't available at all on disc). So again if you want to keep many of these permanently on your PS3 this isn't for you. You can also download any purchased game from the Playstation Network up to 5 times, and you can backup PSN games to a USB storage device by taking a backup of all your data (you can also backup MOST saves individually, as long as the game doesn't 'copy protect' them). The same data storage issues apply to downloadable game demos you can get from PSN, which tend to be around similar sizes - although with these you'll likely to be happy to get rid of them after you've played. And again, there is downloadable content for some games which will also take up more space.

A minor point is the fact that this model has flash memory storage whereas the 500Gb model has hard drive storage. Flash memory is often said to be faster than hard drives, lighter, quieter and more reliable. Well the memory on this PS3 doesn't seem to be working faster - the Metal Gear Solid 4 regular (not full) install took about 8-9 minutes for me, the same as it does with a PS3 with a hard drive. Other installs don't feel faster either (maybe even slightly slower, but not significantly so). It is lighter but that doesn't make a huge difference to the weight. It is quieter but the hard drive on the PS3 isn't too noisy anyway. As for reliable, we'll have to see, but it seems PS3 hard drives are fairly reliable anyway. At least you can perhaps feel a bit cooler or more modern knowing you have flash memory under the hood, for people who care about that kind of thing!

Having said all that about storage space, it should be noted that you can install a hard drive in it (and it doesn't have to be a proprietary hard drive), similar to how the hard drives in all PS3s can be switched / upgraded. In fact some have noted that with the price of this model and the price of hard drives, it could save you money to buy this model and a 500Gb hard drive, over buying the 500Gb model. Or you could add a larger hard drive, e.g. 1Tb. However you not only need a hard drive but also a caddy (or 'mounting bracket' as Sony call it) that will fit. Search for "Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket" on Amazon now and you will find the caddy listed. Sony are also releasing an official hard drive for this model with the caddy included, search "Sony PlayStation 3 250GB Hard Disk Drive (HDD) (Includes Mounting Bracket) (PS3)" for that product on Amazon. You can install other hard drives though - make sure you pick one that with 2.5" width, 9.5mm height, 5400rpm speed and with SATA interface, to make sure it's compatible.

The PS3 has a great library of games now with many more greats to come even though the PS4 is said to be just around the corner. It's also a very good blu ray player. I'm someone who is fine having just a few games on the go at a time and I knew I could handle the memory management issues that would come with this model. I prefer to buy games and movies on disc. I have a PC and an external hard drive for audio and video. So this model was just right for me and I was able to take advantage of the significantly lower price point.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Even as "last years model" the PS3 is still an excellent console. With a vast array of games available including some award winning exclusive titles which are now very cheap (The last of us and the Uncharted series spring to mind). The slim takes up a little more space than your average Blue Ray player but with the 500 GB hard drive it can store movies, downloaded games, music and pictures.
With an internet connection it can be used to play Amazon prime films or Love film on your TV as well as BBC I player and E4 and even as an internet browser though it is cumbersome to browse the web or write anything longer than a tweet without a keypad attachment (not included).
If your holding out for PS4 to come down in price this is still a good console and doubles up as a blue ray player compatible with most sound systems. To boot if you have a modern sony TV then most models will let you use your remote with the PS3.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 45 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)