Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
53
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.29


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2015
The versatility of Duffy is evident in this series of love poems which has been described as a love story in verse. Duffy charts the progress of the relationship from initial euphoria through deepening anxiety to heartbroken farewell using a variety of poetic forms. Duffy freely borrows from, and reworks, the poetry of earlier love poets - Shakespeare and the Metaphysicals in particular - and expects her readers to recognise, and gain deeper understanding from, this homage. But much of her imagery is drawn from modern technology ( although some references already seem dated) and is often witty and inventive. This is a wonderful collection and some of Duffy's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Carol Ann Duffy is a spectacular poet. I studied her for my A levels in English Literature and this book is a beautiful collection of love poems...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
I recently had the privilege of attending Carol Ann Duffy's poetry reading in Lancaster and was compelled to buy Rapture after hearing her read extracts from the book. I have yet to encounter another contemporary poet with such a flair for honesty when dealing with such a sentimentalised subject, chronicling every fleeting emotion associated with love and relationships. Carol Ann Duffy never fails to delight her readers with yet more witty, entertaining, and often heartbreaking words, and her symbiotic relationship with language and syntax remains present in each poem. This collection is worth every penny and I urge all fans of the poet and newcomers to her work to buy it now!
0Comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
A Novel, of poetry. Each poem can be read like a chapter in a book, it tells a story, shows emotion and throughly captivates the reader within seconds. It tells the beautiful and depressive story of Love. From the obsessive lustful stage to the violent and aggressive break-up stage, to conclude with the resentful endings and reflections.
Pure Beauty. A must read for all, as it teaches a lesson to all those who have heard of Love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
I simply adore this book. It is superb, and I can add nothing to previous reviews. However, if you love this, please seek out James Joyce's Chamber Music. Written decades before, it is the Rapture of it's day, and is definitely it's equal. A similar collection of superb love poems about a young man and his developing love for a young lady. If you have a soul, I urge you to buy it at all costs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
The best poetry book you'll ever read. Not just a collection of poetry but a novel told in the first person in a series of poems exploring a character's changing emotionsduring the course of a relationship. This is not just a cheap gimmick, but a very skilful use of a wide range of poetic forms in a very unusual style of literary creativity that every student of poetry must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
Carol Ann Duffy is a prolific and varied poet laureate. This book had passed me by until I noticed it when browsing on my Kindle. I read it for the first time almost at a sitting for these love poems are spell binding. They clearly tell a story but each poem can be relished and retasted time and time again. A beautiful collection of what must have been a searing love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2016
Good quality, brilliant book. Would definitely buy from seller again, item was as specified.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Carol Ann Duffy and poetry go together like two peas in a pod. Simply brilliant, at times sublime, beautiful and a great range of emotions portrayed about love. Words like; 'dreaming you hard, hard, woke with your name, like tears, soft, salt on my lips'.
If you love poetry on love you're going to love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Definitely an interesting read, would recommend to anyone and everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.64
£6.64
£6.29

Need customer service? Click here