Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2016
I had heard that this wasn't so good but with the exception of some out of place over the top shredding in the first movement this is a great recording of an overlooked classic piece of genre smashing music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This CD is brilliance from an amazing musician who will be dearly missed.
The man was a genius in his field. The music is fantastic. I recommend the following.
1. Pour a glass of nice wine
2. Sit back with said glass of wine in hand.
3. Headphones on and press play.
It will be the most relaxing time you will have

RIP Mr Lord
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
I was so excited when I opened this, the new recording of the Concerto and a bonus DVD. The new recording is excellent although burned at a very low volume, but imagine how angry I was when I went to watch the DVD expecting it to be a documentary on the making of the album or such like. It is in fact just the CD again in 5.1. No graphics, not even a montage of stills!!! Save your money and just buy the CD folks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
It's a sad day, when you get to hear some great music and realise you'll never be able to see it performed live. May God rest your soul Jon.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
This is a very good version of Jon Lords Concerto, he brought in a variety of musicians who gel together very well. Sadly Jon passed away soon after finishing it, but at least he went out on a high.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Any fan of Mr. Lord needs to have this as his final legacy. Great muscians were for sure truly honoured to play for this recording.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
This is absolutely brilliant, every aspect works and Bruce Dickinson is a revelation [as part of a brave move to keep most of the other erstwhile members of Deep Purple away from proceedings]... So glad that the original score was recreated and transcribed... Proves without doubt to the classical purists that you don't have to be 150 years old [or dead, or both] to write 'proper' music these days...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Music was great but the dissapointment was the 'bonus DVD' which I expected to be video footage of the recording not another version of the same music in 5.3 (no video)
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
Love this CD a real treat

A great joining of Clssic Rock and Classicial Music good to hear Bruce D and Joe B

You will enjoy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I am truly surprised about the negative reviews. Of course it is always a subjective thing whether you like something or not. I find this version inspiring, simply wonderful - with a perfect sound. Not at all least, it sounds exactly as Jon Lord wanted it to sound, the way he imagined it when he was writing it. It is of course different from many live renditions but all the better.
I would recommend it to anyone who likes classical music and is open to rock as well and to anyone who likes rock and is open to classical stuff. The Concerto is full of wonderful emotions of every kind, it will give you goose bumps. Listen to it concentrating on the music, not as a background and you will be lost in its world.
It is truly a wonderful final gift to all of us by the great late Jon Lord.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)