Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
463
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2012
I watched it in the cinema at the end of November and walked out in a really great Christmas mood (and I hadn't been christmassy when I'd gone in!). I pre-ordered the DVD so I could enjoy it over and over again.
Yes it's very 'staged', but then many things are, particularly Christmas specials. It is a wonderful spectacle to watch: I found the setting romantic, the playing uplifting and the singing divine. There is something here for everyone - classical orchestra, Christmas songs, children's choir, sopranos, tenors and a male voice choir. Santa makes an appearance and a 10 year old ballerina flies through the air.

I don't have SKY so I don't feel at all cheated by paying for this DVD - I can watch it whenever I want, not when someone else dictates and can have it on in the background as an audio track when I'm working at the computer (which is what I'm doing now).

I highly recommend this DVD - invite some friends round, drink a few glasses of mulled wine and start your Christmas celebration early!
11 comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
As always absolutely stunning music and setting. Really puts you in the Christmas spirit. Set in the grounds of Andre's spectacular home with a lovely mix of both traditional songs as well as Christmas favourites. The extra bit of magic is when Andre and his musicians and singers move across the road to the beautiful church. The hyms and the music really reflect the spirit of Christmas past. This DVD is a must for all Andre fans.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
As a person who no longer celebrates Christmas, but one who loves Andre Rieu's music, I have now seen that true Christmas still exists..amazing musical choices,fantastic choirs and solo performers! The scenario for the main concert and the church setting were both entertaining and relevant. Only a DVD of this brilliant content could convert me back to Christmas! Don't miss this truely fantastic and heartwarming tribute to music at Christmas!
66 comments| 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This is a great collection of all types of Christmas music, played and sung excellently. There are actually 2 concerts: the first, a generally light-hearted one played outside Andre Rieu's home, and the second more serious one played at the local church. The open-air concert is delightful, with some special effects and unashamed tugging of the heart-strings. Highlights include the Sjamaes Children's Choir with "In the Christmas Bakery" and the sopranos Mirusia Louwerse, Carla Maffioletti and Kimmy Skota with "Old Toy Trains" and "Walking in the Air". The wonderful pastorale from Corelli's Christmas Concerto links nicely to the church where the music consists of carols and other religious music. The sopranos(who each get to do a solo) and children's choir are joined by the Platin Tenors and the Mastreechter Staar choir in various combinations, and once again the performances are to a very high standard. Altogether, an aural and visual treat. A big thankyou to Andre, the JSO and Chorus, and all the other performers.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
One of the very best DVDs I have had. Had a very friendly and welcoming feeling. Loved by all the friends that viewed . The length of 2hrs plus was great as it was like watching a full length show. The views were superb and what a treat to see the inside of Andre's beautiful home and garden.
Of all the DVDs I have (over 30) some repeats, this I think beats them all as it did not appear to have been cut in order to fit the time allowed. It also had that touch of humour that Andre does so well. Congrats for your latest achievement Worlds greatest performer almost beat the top celebrity stars. Congratulations. Happy Xmas to all.

Madeleine Higgs U.K.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
I saw this programme on German TV a year ago and loved it. Yes it is a bit cheesy and has quite a religious flavour. Nothing wrong with that as Christmas does happen to have a religious significance. Andre himself has strong religious beliefs. This DVD will probably be more popular with the older generation who will love the old carols and songs, a number of which are in English. I loved the english song 'Little toy trains' which I had never heard before. All Andre's shows are shown on TV (usually german) well before they arrive on Sky TV, so all his DVDs were originally on TV, though occasionally there are some differences between the TV transmissions and the DVD release. If you loved Christmas as it used to be before it was dumbed down to stop offending people who probably would'nt be offended anyway, then you'll love this DVD.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
A Christmas present for my 93 year old Nanny, she loves Andre Rieu and has all his cd's, I only wish she could see him in concert
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
Just seen this at the cinema in Sheffield and ordered the DVD.What a wonderful film puts you in mind of Christmas long ago a very special film . What a wonderful orchestra and man brought the real meaning of Christmas alive for me. Would recomend it a spirit lifter without doubt. Andre Rieu: Home For Christmas [DVD]
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Again this is real christmas music,which captures all the joy and atmosphere of the festive season.
Fantastic orchestration,Fantastic choir and singers, which can be watched over and over again
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
Not sure if you want this? Watch this official trailer:

[...]

Five minutes of Andre explaining why you will want to buy this christmas music DVD with samples of video and music that make it an essential DVD for Andre fans this christmas. Enjoy.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse