Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2013
As the other reviews state, this is an overview of the Israel/Palestinian conflict rather than an in depth historical study. That said, the book was perfect for me - I wanted to learn the reasons for the ongoing conflict and this book does this in a straight forward manner. I went from knowing nothing on the subject to having a reasonable understanding of the history of the conflict. Thank you Mr Carroll
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Good book, start far in the past to try to know who from the palestinian or the jews where there before. An it actually made me see the conflict in a different way, even if it lingered a lot of all the atrocity Israel did. This issue is so much more complicated than it looks even if the solution looks quite simple. There are lots of information presented but yiu have to get used to the way it is written as he will first talk about the topic in a general way before talking about it in depth. But it still is a good book if starting on the subject.

Also, if you're looking for an academic book, it is not the one for you (for example, he does not systematically mention all his sources, sometimes, you won't know if it's a proven fact or just a theory), and by the author own admission.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
This is an excellent account of events in the Middle East told in an easy to follow fashion. Enjoyable and well-written and gives a complete account of the complicated situation in Israel and Palestine. Ian Carroll is clearly a gifted storyteller. I especially liked the early history including the bible stories but all events are clearly described and I recommend this book for students and academics alike. Something for everyone in a comprehensive and impressive book and also very reasonably priced.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
This is not written by an historian but rather from a religious perspective. The text is actually unreadable and I couldn't get beyond a few pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
A subject that certainly has divided hearts and minds since the beginning. Reading this book was certainly worth my investment on all accounts. Apart from a brief run down at school years ago I had very little context on which to build any meaningful understanding of the events reported in today's news. This book is so concise it's brimming with story AND it was really really easy to enjoy. It left me feeling a whole lot more informed about a long story of stories, the tip of which features so often in daily news. It is History brought to life and into the present day. It brings meaning to the intense feelings on both sides and can build empathy and understanding in the reader.....for both sides. Thank you Ian Carroll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I was a little skeptical when I bought this book. I was interested in finding out more about the Israel/Palestine conflict but did not want anything that would be too laborious. This was a fantastic read, not too scholastic and not boring either. There were some parts where I feel the author was giving too much of his own view but overall I do not regret the purchase and his writing did make me want to find more books on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
If, like me, you are saddened and disturbed by the current hostilities in Gaza and the West Bank (summer 2014) and only have a sketchy understanding of the Israeli/Palestinian conflict, this book is a good place to start. Basic in its analysis, it appears to give a good factual account of the history, and atrocities, committed by both sides of the argument. I now feel more confident to tackle some of the weightier tomes out there, before me coming to a better informed opinion.

One observation, the kindle edition at least, would be enhanced by a series of historical maps of the region. Having a decent atlas to hand might help before you start to read!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
The book is well researched but the style of the writing could be better. There are a few random chapters near the start which are basically taken from the bible verbatim but I guess this was to add context. I don't think this guy claims to be an award-winning author more so just someone who is interested in the topic, has done some research and shared it with everyone. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
A detailed book which bothers to enter into the long and detailed history of the region. Well worth a read if you're interested in the area whether you're indifferent,or, supportive of anyone involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Superb book,crystal clear about the past and present situation.Love the way the facts and history are set out.If you are interested in the present conflict in the middle east,it is a Must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)