Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
122
4.5 out of 5 stars
From Hell
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


on 10 December 2015
I bought this for my partner as a gift as he's a massive graphic novel fan and I was most impressed when it arrived. The book is large, heavy and thick and tells the entire From Hell story. Each page it's beautiful drawn telling this dark tale with thought and care.
The characters are striking from the first page and the story of Jack the Ripper comes alive once more.
From Hell takes a very interesting spin on the Ripper tale and follows follows the story a detective trying to track him down. The super natural meets the bloody and cruel steeds of Victorian London in a gripping tale that I dare not say to much about lest I give away the plot. Needless to say anyone who buys this book will not be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2016
It takes me months to get through comics and I am still reading this but it is absolutely fantastic. I was put off by the subject, for some reason I thought Jack the Ripper subject would be quite dry but this book is very good and compelling. Tonnes of research put into it. Thankyou Moore!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Just read the damned thing. Made look at London in a different light
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
From Hell is one of my favourite comics of all time so I totally loved this. It was like sitting in a room with Alan Moore and Eddie Campbell for Hours and Hours and hearing them talk about the book. The book was largely comprised of Alan's scripts to Eddie detailing how the panels should look and what should be in them. This should have been quite dry but it was fascinating, there was insights into the characters, the history, jokes, and beautiful passages of prose. I learned a lot about the creative process that went into making the book and how it was written and drawn, so much detail and so much work. This is definitely one I'd recommend to fans.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
great and huge book. looks realy nice and haves got a really great drawings. written by the top writer of comics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 June 2016
"From Hell" is a masterpiece of graphic novel fiction - by writer Alan Moore and artist Eddie Campbell. It was originally published as 10 issues between 1989 to 1996 - and was collected into a single volume in 1999. It's a story set in Victorian England, and concerns the murders and motives of Jack the Ripper. Indeed, the title of this large book (it's nearly 600 pages long) is derived from the contents of a letter that is thought to be written by the Whitechapel Murderer. This graphic novel was met with both critical acclaim and commercial success. If you're a fan of Moore's writing, or you're simply interested in Jack the Ripper, then I thoroughly recommend this book.

The artwork is highly detailed and realistic - yet is presented in a rather stark fashion, in black and white (with lots of shades of grey). Campbell excels at creating a dark and tense atmosphere, full of shadows portraying danger. The illustrations are most engaging - and, on occasion, highly explicit (depicting sex and prostitution, as well as murder and mutilation). The art perfectly complements the detail and depth of the story offered by Moore.

The Jack the Ripper murders are conceived as part of a conspiracy to conceal the birth of an illegitimate royal baby (fathered by Prince Albert Victor, Duke of Clarence) born to a young prostitute. Moore undertook a great deal of research in order to ground the various plot points of the story in reality. And, as an appendix, this volume presents a 40+ page set of notes explaining which aspects of the narrative are based on fact, and which are fiction.

This is one of finest pieces of Ripper story-telling. The book is a high-quality publication, and presents the graphic novel in a deluxe manner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Present for son...who was pissed that Patricia Cornwell exposed the end in a review...don't think she'd be happy if reviewers did that to her novels...o
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
First, I should say I am not a comic novel fan – I do have the usual suspects somewhere on my shelves: Maus, Persepolis and a couple of Robert Crumb compilations, but they are not the books I’d rush to save in the event of a fire.

From Hell is very graphic – in both senses. If the content was turned into a film or televised the result would be adult rated and accompanied by various warnings – and I’d feel queasy having to watch it. But in this form (the illustrations are great) you get the impact from an honest and brutal depiction of events without being unnecessarily gory.

And the Jack the Ripper story is unsettling – there may be many motivations for murder, but the systematic mutilation of human flesh does not leave many options.

In the absence of a definitive answer, theories and speculations have abounded, and Moore does an excellent job to include these, as they too are now part of the story, without allowing them to overwhelm his version of what happened.

But the real success is in shining a light on ordinary, and not so ordinary, lives in Victorian London and the social conditions of the time, even if what it says on human nature and society is far from reassuring.

I do question the language used in places – like when Inspector Abberline is approached by a fourteen-year-old boy expressing his theory involving magic the response was: “Oh, bloody ‘ell! Not another one! Listen, it’s all a pile of bollocks, and there’s no such thing as magic. No such bloody thing, alright?” Now, I don’t know how policemen spoke in C19, but I would have expected more ‘Dixon of Dock Green’ than ‘The Sweeney.’

But the major weakness for me was the 42-page appendix – mainly providing references to source material but also important background information and links between scenes in the main body. Too valuable to skip, but reading the dense text broke up the flow of the story.

The author freely admits episodes in the story are his own invention, and in other places he questions the references he uses as there is no evidence to back them up. I am sympathetic to this ‘joining the dots’ approach as it allows the story to flow and provides the important context of time and place that the bare facts would not.

However, there are moments when the author’s imagination seems to run away – like when Inspector Abberline strikes up an unlikely friendship with a prostitute right in the centre of the area where the murders took place, and when the Ripper has visions of present-day London – those seem like a poor excuse for the illustrator to draw some contemporary buildings!

Despite the flaws, I enjoyed the read (if ‘enjoyed’ is the right word!), certainly interesting and worthwhile. The graphic novel format worked well in making it accessible while conveying an atmosphere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2008
Alan Moore's stated aim was to solve in fiction, that which could not be answered by conventional analysis or enquiry and my word, did he succeed.

A giant tower house of a thing, it must be one the most engrossing reads ever - part examination of the crimes, part critique of Victorian society, part history lesson and part mythical analysis. In some instances even one page can take ages to properly read and understand, but in each an every case it is well worth it. The epilogue `Dance of the Gull Catchers' should be required reading for anyone even remotely interested in history of any sort.

Eddie Campbell's black and white ink-style is wonderfully complimentary to the narrative; you simply couldn't imagine it any other way.

Well done to Topshelf for going all out with this edition - good quality paper (unlike other versions) and a good size and well bound. The only sadness for me was the lack of inclusion of Campbell's cover-paintings for each issue, but no doubt it was the financial consideration - I recommend seeking out the individual editions if you can, or have a look at Eddie Campbell's blog spot for more background and info.

Everyone always talks about `Watchmen' but this powerhouse beast of a thing must rank among Moore's best work, if only because it transcends it's own medium and genre to become something of real relevance way, way beyond what it's initial appearance suggests. I'm not even that curious about the case, but that is almost irrelevant because of the amount of insight this work has in a broader context.

I strongly urge anyone with even a passing interest to check this out - you are unlikely to be disappointed. And if you can, treat yourself to the hardback edition.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here