Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 February 2014
Good to see Daniel Radcliffe doing something with a bit more gravitas, and while the script, camerawork and acting was fine it didn't really have much Russian soul about it.
It was as though someone had read the book, thought it was great but had little real understanding of or feeling for Russia in the period it is set in. The sort of person who would cast Richard Gere in a costume drama and have him chewing gum in a dramatic 17th century moment. Or use 21st century luvvy speak in a WWII drama.
Or maybe it is just that the episodes are so short. Perhaps the production team was a bit spineless and thought that US audiences would be unable to cope with a decent 90-minute episode.
Despite these failings, it is enjoyable to see Radcliffe put as much into the main character as possible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2014
This is a very weird almost film noir production. Some of it is so over the top, one wonders is it a spoof?
It might be a good idea to read the original book by Bulgakov.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2013
I have to admit that I was not sure if I was going to like this. However, it was very enjoyable and I'm liking watching the young Mr. Radcliffe stretch his acting wings.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2013
A fun and unexpected twist in a consept I haven't seen in quite this way. Simply brilliant, Simply loved it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
I thought this was fun TV watching....I hope that they do some more and I will be watching for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2017
Arrived safely. can't wait to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
It was bought for a friend's birthday. He likes these sort of drama/comedy.
He enjoyed very much.
No problems experienced Quick delivery
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2013
a very darkly funny dvd Daniel Radcliffe looks a bit too young though, the book is better everyone should read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2013
I admit it. I ended up with this DVD by accident, thinking it was a film rather than a four-part television adaptation, and didn't realise that it was based on Mikhail Bulgakov's writing. So what a pleasant surprise! This is a comedy drama about a newly-qualified Russian doctor practicing in a rural community. Much as it is set in 1917, the Russian Revolution itself plays little part in the proceedings. Instead we see the doctor's bumbling first few months through to the beginnings of his slide into drug addiction. The first episode in particular contains fantastic comedy acting from Daniel Radcliffe, showing a completely different side to Harry Potter, and the plot darkens as the episodes progress. It won't suit everybody, but I really enjoyed this, despite not getting what I expected!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)