Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
62
4.3 out of 5 stars
A Young Doctor's Notebook [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 August 2014
As ever the film of the book fails to do proper justice to the original material. I've never really understood why screen writers twist and mangle the plot of a book and retain the same title. If it's not the same story then surely just go the whole hog and call it something else! This production is OK (just about) for what it is - the trouble is I couldn't get the idea out of my mind that it was pretending to be something it wasn't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
I recently took up a job where the out going person had been working for 20+ years,and as people keep commenting about my predecessor,I enjoyed the Leopoldovich reference hugely. Good acting, but felt the end seemed a bit sudden.I intend to read the books now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2016
Black, hilarious at times, brilliantly acted comedy drama, set in Russia in the early part of the 20th century. See Harry Potter in a different light, as a newly qualified doctor, sent to the middle of nowhere to practice his new craft. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
A fantastic cast, brilliant story. I have never read anything from Mikhail Bulgakov. Or even heard of him when I bought this.
You don't need to be an avid reader of Bulgakov to enjoy this. Best series I have watched in ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Fans of Mikhail Bulgakov should stay very well away from this DVD. It is an utter distortion and corruption of his stories.
The production team were clearly not satisfied with the sensitivity and warmth of Bulgakov - and so decided to turn the story into a combination of horror and farce. I appreciate that adapting books requires changes, but this series goes well beyond what was required to bring the story to the screen effectively.
For example - a little girl needed her leg amputated. In the book the doctor was astonished by the complete lack of blood; the saw he was given was "pristine", the amputation proceeded very quickly, the leg was disposed of sensitively by his assistant. In the DVD there was obviously fake blood gushing everywhere; the saw was blunt, the doctor hacked away until he was exhausted, dropped the leg on the floor and his assistant fell over it onto the fake blood.
The whole story of the Doctors friend who became and addict and committed suicide (tragic and moving in the book) was conflated into the doctors own life.
In the book the Doctor did not have an affair with his nurses, and there was no hint of such an event. In the DVD there were multiple, sordid sexual encounters.
It is hard to know where to stop with the criticism of a production that lost all the tact and warmth of the book in a feeble attempt to attract a morbid audience that simply wanted blood and titillation.
Shame on the producers. Shame on Radcliffe (who claims to love Bulgakov). Shame on SKY.
The only DVD I have ever bought in my life that was literally binned after one viewing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
This DVD is fantastic, Loved the program when it was on Sky Arts so i at to buy it.
Great story played by brilliant actors. There's also a bit of comedy throughout the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Amazed that this has not received the acclaim that it deserves. The story line comes from a literary past master, the casting, and acting, are brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
It was bought for a friend's birthday. He likes these sort of drama/comedy.
He enjoyed very much.
No problems experienced Quick delivery
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
I found this very amusing and would recommend it to anyone. I have lent this to many family members and they have all enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Well crafted script that has the raw edge of reality.
Not for the feint hearted or over imaginative.
Good show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)