Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
724
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2014
Oh dear! I have admired and respected Dawn for many years and before purchasing the book I read some of the reader reviews of Oh Dear Sylvia, I thought that those giving 1 star just didn't "get" the plotline.
However having struggled through the first 10 chapters I do get the plot, indeed it is obvious from chapter 2, but I cannot for the life of me find anything even faintly humerous about all the visitors at the bedside of someone in a coma. I can't even believe the professional critics were laughing "on every page". I found I was dozing off after about 3 pages and I am someone who was so engrossed in a book I could not put it down and read it right through the night.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
I found this book difficult dreary and gave up on it and I am an avid reader and don't give up easily
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Rubbish rubbish doesn't even deserve 1 star rubbish rubbish rubbish rubbish rubbish rubbish . Rubbish rubbish rubbish rubbish rubbish rubbish
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2016
Emotional rollercoaster, poignant and heart warming.
Excellent consideration of dysfunctional family dynamics. A touching accurate portrayal of family heart break.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
Good but not outstanding
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
This is the first time I have read a Dawn French novel. I really thought it was well written ,funny with much pathos. The characters are vivid and colourful. Really enjoyed this read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
As this way by Dawn French I expected the read to be funny. In some ways it was. Interesting read not sure where the idea came from but good. Quite reflective and food for thought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Rather disappointed with this book and unfortunately not Dawn's best. Found it a bit boring and slow paced .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Excellent service, wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I bought this as I like Dawn French. I was not disappointed. It was thoughtful and funny and made you think about life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here