Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
64
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 June 2016
This is the second novel in a trilogy, and it immediately follows on from the events of the first instalment "Path of Destruction". Here, author Drew Karpyshyn continues the story of Darth Bane - an immensely powerful Dark Lord of the Sith - who has accessed ancient and forbidden knowledge. With this knowledge, Bane has ended the war that had engulfed the Republic - by destroying his former brotherhood and killing all other Sith lords. This was done so that Bane could instigate the Rule of Two - that the Sith should only ever comprise of two: a master and an apprentice. Together, their task is to use secrecy, subterfuge and other clandestine methods so as to infiltrate the Republic and - over time - conquer it. With this in mind, Darth Bane seeks to train an apprentice ...

Karpyshyn offers an intriguing and highly engaging story - one that draws on the Star Wars mythos, but also contributes to it. This is a very fascinating adventure - focussing on the villain-as-protagonist - set some 1,000 years before the events of "A New Hope". And what this novels does is present a story about what that galaxy - far, far away - is like. We get to read about the Jedi Order at the peak of its power and influence. And we discover the first tentative steps taken by the Sith that eventually culminate in Palpatine's victory and the rise of the Empire. If this backstory interests you, I thoroughly recommend this book.

In this novel, Darth Bane takes an apprentice - a young woman called Zannah - and trains her in the dark side of the Force. Meanwhile, he seeks to advance his own strengths and abilities - by locating the remaining hidden remnants of ancient Sith knowledge. To do this, he journeys around the galaxy, in search of long abandoned temples. It is during this quest that he falls victim to trap - and is attacked by orbalisks, parasitic creatures that attach themselves to his body, growing and multiplying, feeding of his energy. Unable to remove these creatures, Bane learns to control their growth - so as to prevent them covering him completely. And, strangely, they now serve as invulnerable body armour - even able to withstand a light-sabre.

As the years pass, Zannah grows into a beautiful woman - and masters the ways of Sith sorcery. As their plans are set in motion, a few Jedi start to suspect that the Sith have returned. And so, revealing themselves for the first time, Bane and Zannah engage the Jedi ... resulting in an intense confrontation. And the outcome of the battle leads directly into the concluding instalment of the trilogy: "Dynasty of Evil".

"Rule of Two" is an excellent Star Wars novel - but I do suggest reading this as part of the trilogy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2008
This is Drew Karpyshyn's second book in the Darth Bane series and the two are quite honestly the best star wars books you can buy.
I have read much of the new jedi order series and others but these books give an insight in the force that not even the films managed.
The characters are some of the best of any canon star wars material and the books are really just a joy to read and will leave you wanting more!

I would strongly urge any star wars fan especially those sick of constant infighting between jedi to buy these books and get a whole new perspective on the force - you will not be dissapointed!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
This is a relentlessly dark, brooding adventure with some superb characters. The pace is excellent, and the interesting character progression, tracking the curbing of Bane's power as the star of his young apprentice Zannah rises, is engrossing stuff.

Some great set pieces, good and often witty dialogue and plot reversals make this story an excellent choice for Star Wars aficionados.

This particular episode would make a fantastic set of films aimed at adult audiences - if you've seen the film "Dredd" it would make a good starting point for the kind of dark, violent territory the story covers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Awesome for all star war fans, lots of action and you'll find out more about the dark side, i have read all three books and they were amazing. The first book takes a while to get into but then its action, dark side all the way. I loved it !!!! Books 2 and 3 i finished quickly as i found it gripping, bane's journey sets the standards for all upcoming sith and dark side force users. Brilliant you will not regret !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
This is sequel to Path of Destruction: A Novel of the Old Republic (Star Wars: Darth Bane) it continues immediately after the first book and then jumps 10 years. The book follows Bane's apprentice from an innocent 10 year old to claim her own Darth title. Zannah can be even more cold blooded then her master. This book is enjoyable and it is a credit to the author that he finished this book in 6 months. This book is the second step in the 1000 year plan that became Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith (Star Wars (Random House Hardcover)). In the first book Bane showed some humanity when he felt remorse and even crippling guilt over his first force murders, but Zannah does not seem to have a conscience at all. As a reader I was drawn into Zannah's point of view. During the book Bane makes himself nie-indestructible which presents an interesting problem to his apprentice who is destined to kill her master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2016
This isn't about Bane, it's about his new apprentice.
I liked his struggles in the first book, his drive. In this book he seems disengaged, aloof.
I didn't think the story was focused as the first book, it wasn't as clear or emotive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
The sequel to Darth Bane: Path of Destruction, Rule of Two continues with Darth Bane and his apprentice Zannah as they make connections and exploit political tensions in order to fortify the Republic against any rival groups that threaten it. Bane does this because he knows that the Republic, one target, can be more easily manipulated than many. With his abundant patience and secrecy, his plans will eventually lead to the destruction of the entire Jedi.

In the aftermath of the Battle of Ruusan, where the thought bomb weapon wiped out nearly all Sith and many Jedi, new political developments are occurring. The Jedi, confident that their enemies are now extinct, are making the fatal decision to retire as warriors and hand over political power to the politicians of the Republic. Young Jedi Johun Othone thinks that the battles and sacrifices made by the Jedi in the war against the Sith are in vain now that the Jedi are relinquishing their political power, and he can’t rid himself of the suspicion that a formidable Dark Lord of the Sith may still survive to rise again.

I really enjoyed the exploration of themes relating to the aftermath on Ruusan, and how the war affected the planet’s atmosphere and inhabitants. This element of back-story, along with the back-story throughout with regard to other planets and civilisations, made Rule of Two rich in detail and well thought-out. There were some nice ideas in there too, such as parasites that can grant unlimited strength, but possession of which can lead to some problems. I thoroughly liked reading through the entirety of this well-polished novel, which had some jaw-opening events close to the end. Apprentice Zannah was just the sort of character I wanted to learn more from, being ruthless, creative, and yet not completely swayed by the dark side. Such things as love, care, and doubt were still small uncertainties for her. Even though the source of her strength in the dark side is not as obvious or concentrated as her master’s, I did respect her intelligence in supporting the Sith Order.

Criticism: I didn’t find Rule of Two to be as exciting and compelling as Path of Destruction, which impeccably described Bane’s struggle and had many twists and turns. But then, POD did set a very high standard. Some of the passages were too descriptive, and maybe it could have been balanced better by focusing more on apprentice Zannah’s development as a character.

SPOILER: The orbalisks’ weakness was electricity, which surprised me because I rather thought or hoped that it was their own power fuelled by Bane that led to their destruction.

If you liked Path of Destruction, or even if you haven’t read it, I recommend Rule of Two. The battles were well-described and critically believable. The author has done his research on this, borrowing ideas, technologies, and scenes from the films and using them to great effect to bring the Old Republic to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2008
If you are a lover of light fluffy insubstantial sci-fi then don't read this dark , violent and at times macabre tale of how the the Sith got up & running again . It is a nice easy read as it only took me a couple of evenings to get through and ends as abruptly as it starts . This book keeps you on the edge of your seat and would be the superb basis for a cartoon type movie . The characters have real depth and the imagery that this brilliant writer constructs is pretty powerful . I already look forward to the next novel in this sinister series and won't say more for fearing of ruining the suprise factor of all the dramatic twists and turns that so impressed me when I read it a few days ago . Amazon.co.uk are doing us customers a great favour by selling this at such a superb discount . If you love great sci-fi books then this is for you !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
A Brilliant middle entry to an amazing book trilogy, After a successful attempt at wiping out the Sith, Darth Bane embarks on starting his own legacy the rule of two. He soon finds an apprentice and starts to teach her his philosophy on what he thinks the Sith should be, Bane continues his plots and schemes against the jedi while also pursuing lost Sith Knowledge, Overall I think it's slightly the weakest out of the three simple because the first one is a great origin story and the third one is packed full of tension and a cat and mouse theme throughout, but this one is still a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
At times I was enjoying this book but on too many occasions I lost interest and done a bit of scan reading. Don't wanna give away any spoilers so I'll just say I hated the ending. I read the first book pretty quickly but this took me ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse