Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2012
After reading the very positive reviews and the fact it was recorded at an abandoned Russian mining village near the North Pole, i tried not to get too carried away before my first listen. I didn't need to worry.Q and Mojo mention hints of Talk Talk's Spirit of Eden which i hear, but i also hear The National. More importanly, this album has an identity all of it's own. If you want your music to carry you away to somewhere beautiful. Look no further. It's Here. You will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 29 September 2012
Danish band Efterklang aren't afraid of going to some lonely places.
Their new album 'Piramida' is infused with the kind of melancholy
which could become a bit wearing were it not for the deft management
of their richly varied melodic material. There are far more than
fifty shades of grey here but still the music somehow manages to
sustain our attention and interest. The long winter nights of their
Northern home have served them well. There's not a little magic here.

Singer Casper Clausen has a distinctive and beguiling voice. Moody with
a capital M, it casts a long shadow over all ten of these fine songs.
The abandoned mining town of the project's title has clearly been a
rich source of inspiration for this talented ensemble. The tinkling
keyboards, skittering percussion and shimmering harmonies speak of life
in a cold and inhospitable place; a landscape of ghosts and broken dreams.

Take a song like 'The Living Layer' : moving at a snail's pace we sense the
evocation of vast frozen snowy wastes and an inhospitable and uncertain horizon.
So to with 'Sedna', a strangely affecting composition in which Mr Clausen
sings the faltering melody like a man hanging onto hope by the barest thread.
In contrast 'Dreams Today' has a sparking and enchanting fairy tale presence
which shines out like a beacon in the prevailing gloom. The elves are dancing!
Final track 'Monument' is the stuff of troubled dreams. A truly haunting coda.

Less is certainly more in Efterklang's world. A richly rewarding experience.

Highly Recommended.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
The other reviews on here might lead you to suppose that this is more ambient than it actually is - the outstandingly good vocals won't permit you to leave this in the background for too long. As regards the music, I loved the use of brass which echoed David Sylvian's early solo albums and as a whole the album reminded me of Gramophone and Portishead and more recently of Wild Beasts. Take it from me that if you like any of the above you will like this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2012
This album is as interesting as it is beautiful. Can't get enough. I strongly recommend the vinyl edition as there are some stunning photos and artwork in the booklet. It comes with a CD too so you get your money's worth. Good work you lovely boys!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
As a fan of Sigur Ros and the lesser known Jeniferever, Efterklang's latest release is, in my opinion, on a par with anything released by the aformentioned groups. The vocals are haunting, guiding the listener through the frosty landscape sculpted from the understated and magnificently constructed work of this group of talented Scandinavians. It all comes together beautifully to create an experience both chilling and heartwarming at the same time. Well worth taking a punt on if you're not familiar with them, and if you are, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
I can't stop listening to this album. Beautifully constructed pop music. If you've heard previous Efterklang albums, this is a bit different, taking a more conventional approach to songwriting. Reminds me of 80s Talk Talk, which is definitely a good thing!

Highlights for me are "Between The Walls" and "Sedna".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
Not parades under giant trees but still great stuff. i'm reminded of Blue Nile but miss the electronic brass and choral folklore magic of Parades and Tripper, not as original or broad/deep but this pared down warm yet bleak tour de force is to be reckoned with. Accessible Efterklang for beginners with stand out tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This has been stuck in my CD player for days now - such a sublime CD - fresh, crisp with an original identity. There are hints of Talk Talk as someone else has mentioned, but really this is new and original. As I said, sublime.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
A new Efterklang release was something that a lot of us were looking forward to. But having played it through again and again I'm still struggling to come to terms with it. Indeed, I began to wonder if I was a proper Efterklang fan, but a journey through 'Under Giant Trees' restored my faith in my underlying love of their work.
So why doesn't it work?
Well for me there seems to be a lot of dependence on the vocals of Casper Clausen which, whilst delightfully melancholy, begin to irritate - probably because there are just so much vocals on this release. Indeed I think this is the main reason why I'm struggling. In trying to depict an abandoned Russian settlement I expected more eerie musical arrangements and a lot less vocals.
Then there are the arrangements which I found rather uninteresting, often quite straightforward and in some cases very pop-derived. Nils Frahm's 'Dreams today' is excellent and 'Monument' is quite good but that's about it I'm afraid.
Some other reviewers love it so you'll have to make your own minds up.
The packaging is great, but then you don't judge a book by its covers - it's the plot that counts.
Let's hope this is a blip and 'normal' service is resumed next time out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
This is a fantastic album, full of atmosphere, you get taken on a musical journey from which there is no reason to escape untill the last track has finished. A great find and a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)